HPOP Gauge ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:52 AM
Turbos = Witchcraft
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 2,842
Thanks: 2
Thanked 29 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
HPOP Gauge ?

I have heard that tuning can lead to incorrect HPOP readings from the PCM, so what shows up on the Insight or scangauge might not be accurate. Is this true? Has anyone used an analog gauge to monitor HPOP? Autometer makes some for the 7.3, will those work on a 6.0?

Another one, probably a longshot, but has anyon ever tried to hook up an analog gauge to FICM voltage? I ask just because I like how gauges look, and sometimes I don't completely trust my PCM to give me good readings all the time... maybe I'm just paramoid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:27 AM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,691
Thanks: 28
Thanked 93 Times in 66 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Yes if your truck is tuned for power other than stock, your ICP values will not be accurate readings of what is going on.
Several folks have used the HPOP guages from autometer, ISSPRO, etc to monitor ICP and yes the 7.3 one will work for the 6.0. I recommend ISSPRO but that is just me.
I would say you are just paranoid for the FICM voltage. There really isnt anyway to hook a guage up without splicing into the harness. You certainly wouldnt want to go through the cover and like solder leads to where you check FICM voltage with a voltmeter. I recommend just using something like a CTS or scanguage. JMO.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,175
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
This is not always true. My 06 is tuned (obviously) has a ficm tune and it reads correctly on my AE and on my piggy backed isspro gauge. It's kinda hit or miss if it works or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-06-2012, 07:42 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
This guy hooked up a gauge for FICM voltage. (near the end of the right up)
http://www.bscustoms.net/diesel/FICM.pdf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-06-2012, 11:30 AM
Turbos = Witchcraft
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 2,842
Thanks: 2
Thanked 29 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
That's interesting, I don't know how I feel about runnigna wire out of the FICM... I have Autometer Phantom II gauges (came with the truck) and as my luck would have it, they don't make a HPOP gauge in that style.

Nate, you are probably right that I am paranoid about trusting the scan gauge, but sometimes my readings from the OBD II don't match my gauges, like boost and tranny temp... I know my tranny temp gauge is not in the sam place as the factory sensor, but idk why the boost doesn't match up. That's why I kinda want all gauges
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-06-2012, 12:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,044
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
because the pcm is taking boost pressure from the map sensor, its never as accurate as an actual boost reading from an analog gauge... ICP is accurate, you have to tap the same sensor to get the reading anyway it reads what the sensor sees so there wont be any difference. Your trans temp issue is where your sensor is, I noticed this too when for ****s and giggles hooked a sensor into the test port one day to a regular temp gauge and it was a few degrees off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-06-2012, 05:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so does the insight cs or cts monitor the correct icp or not? tuned or not tuned???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:06 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,691
Thanks: 28
Thanked 93 Times in 66 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Ask your tuner if your ICP will read correctly through the OBDII port. I asked Chris at TSD and he said mine wouldnt. I can tell you when i monitor it with my CTS and running his tune it never really gets any higher than 1700psi. FWIW.

Installing a guage to piggy back off the ICP sensor is the only way to have it read correctly but I have also heard of a guy that did that and his still wouldnt read accurately when tuned so IDK.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-06-2012, 06:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 551
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
when i monitor my icp (IDP x street tune) with my mac mentor it seems to read correctly, it starts at 500 psi then running through the motions it varies in psi all across the board i cannot remember the highest it got but higher than the 1700 psi you mentioned wildrunner... weird. My scan tool is obviously getting it info from the same location as the insight... maybe your right, matters what tuner you go with???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-07-2012, 06:10 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I know a guy that tied a nitrous gauge sending unit (only thing he could find that had the range) into one of the lines coming from the HPOP.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors