Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

6 hole vs 8 hole injectors

11K views 35 replies 12 participants last post by  rdunagan 
#1 ·
Hey all, I have a wild and crazy question regarding injectors. I'm getting ready to drop some serious coin upgrading my '05 CC FX4 with turbo, injectors, stud..etc.. Anyways, my question was there is a company in PA that specializes in building up larger injectors, 155, 175 and 190cc utilizing the original 6 hole design but with larger orifices ie, 190cc 75%. Then there's Elite Diesel who has for instance an 8 hole 185 cc injector at 70%.

My question is, will the 8 hole atomize the fuel better than the 6 hole or is that merely just gonna boil down to personal preference. The cost difference between the two are substantial, but I curious as to the quality of the 6 vs 8 hole, all money talk aside.

Any input out there?

#6 ·
I'm no expert but after helping buds pull heads off a few stock motors and looking at the burn pattern across the entire piston head I would say even stock injectors don't just spray into the bowl of the piston.

#3 ·
Good to hear. I was curious. I'm still up in the air over the setup I want but I have been teetering with the idea of the Powermax-SR coupled with either Elites 185cc or Warren Diesel 175cc 70% injectors among other things. I want streetable power, reliability yet still be able to tow if necessary when I move again. Thanks for your input. It's always nice getting others' opinions.

#4 ·
interested as well because injectors are in my foreseen future...

#8 ·
I would go with Warren, read great stuff about him. I dont have injectors......yet, but when I do I will be calling him.

#9 ·