Boost gauge not reading - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boost gauge not reading

I just finished installing my autometer boost gauge and its reading 0 when i spool it up. Its an electronic gauge so all it has is wiring no tube. I put it in the intake elbow. Any suggestions?
cwill0829 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 11:28 AM
BACKYARDIGAN


 
windrunner408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Swartz Creek, MI
Posts: 4,816
Thanks: 30
Thanked 133 Times in 93 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Check your wiring to make sure you did it according to the instructions and that your connections are solid. I know it needs a switched 12v source, a ground, and the sensor wire. Not to mention the wiring for the lights. I had an autometer temperature gauge once on my small block chevy that would just peg high all the time and it was because I had a bad ground. Hope this helps.

Nate
2006 F350 (BACKYARDIGAN) - 67mm Turbo, 215/85 injectors, WPE intake manifold, NB/Warren Trans, and more stuff that I don't care to mention....
2006 F250 (LITTLE DURTY) - WPE Manifold, Up-pipes, EGR delete kit, and Tuned By ME
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

BULLET PROOF DIESEL 1-888-967-6653
KC TUROS - Not just a modified Powermax...

WINDRUNNER PERFORMANCE ENGINEERING

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windrunner408 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks ill check all the wiring again but im pretty sure its all good. Could it be the sensor orcspmething? Seems pretty hard to screw up but i guess i did
cwill0829 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-14-2012, 02:14 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 
windrunner408's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Swartz Creek, MI
Posts: 4,816
Thanks: 30
Thanked 133 Times in 93 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
It could be but autometer gauges are pretty high quality stuff. The likelyhood that you have a bad gauge is probably 10x less likely than you didnt wire something up properly. So there is a chance it is bad but I never really hear autometer guages not working.

Nate
2006 F350 (BACKYARDIGAN) - 67mm Turbo, 215/85 injectors, WPE intake manifold, NB/Warren Trans, and more stuff that I don't care to mention....
2006 F250 (LITTLE DURTY) - WPE Manifold, Up-pipes, EGR delete kit, and Tuned By ME
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

BULLET PROOF DIESEL 1-888-967-6653
KC TUROS - Not just a modified Powermax...

WINDRUNNER PERFORMANCE ENGINEERING

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
windrunner408 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-15-2012, 03:12 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Srove my truck today and the boost gauge is reading now. Yesterday i just power braked and it wasnt getting enough boost to register... Guess i am the dummy
cwill0829 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome