Boost gauge not reading - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:07 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boost gauge not reading

I just finished installing my autometer boost gauge and its reading 0 when i spool it up. Its an electronic gauge so all it has is wiring no tube. I put it in the intake elbow. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-14-2012, 10:28 AM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,693
Thanks: 28
Thanked 93 Times in 66 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Check your wiring to make sure you did it according to the instructions and that your connections are solid. I know it needs a switched 12v source, a ground, and the sensor wire. Not to mention the wiring for the lights. I had an autometer temperature gauge once on my small block chevy that would just peg high all the time and it was because I had a bad ground. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-14-2012, 11:23 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks ill check all the wiring again but im pretty sure its all good. Could it be the sensor orcspmething? Seems pretty hard to screw up but i guess i did
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-14-2012, 01:14 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,693
Thanks: 28
Thanked 93 Times in 66 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
It could be but autometer gauges are pretty high quality stuff. The likelyhood that you have a bad gauge is probably 10x less likely than you didnt wire something up properly. So there is a chance it is bad but I never really hear autometer guages not working.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-15-2012, 02:12 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Napa ca
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Srove my truck today and the boost gauge is reading now. Yesterday i just power braked and it wasnt getting enough boost to register... Guess i am the dummy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors