I have some really needed to be answered questions! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2012, 06:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cape girardeau mo
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have some really needed to be answered questions!

Ok, Everything that is on my truck is in my sig. Iam about to put injectors in it. I think iam going to put Warren 155's in just for the fact that iam not purchasing and turbo at the moment and do not want to get too hot! I was thinking about doing 175's but am a little lery. Iam going to get an Airdog II as well. Here is my questions
1. I have Glowshift gauges and i have a fuel pressure gauge and the sender that reads the pressure is on the fuel filter bowl. When i get an Airdog correct me if iam wrong but doesent that eliminate that filter? Where would my pressure read from?
Next question
2. Should i have my tuning revised for the injectors or will it be fine? I may do studs while iam in there so then i would get a new tune but if i dont then should i have my tune rewrote?
Thanks in advance , Travis!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-08-2012, 06:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes you will need your tunes re-written for the injectors. Vivian tweaked mine when i got injectors. I think you'll like the 155s, the mid and top end power noticeably increased.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-08-2012, 07:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cape girardeau mo
Posts: 516
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok sweet man! And i think i may have found what i was talking about for my fuel pressure gauge. Does the airdog 2 take away the top filter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-08-2012, 07:20 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,969
Thanks: 3
Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
What you do with the top filter is up to you. You can take it out but you will have to remove the stand pipe from the bowl to get fuel to flow through it. I would suggest you do that as the filter is not needed with the ADII.

I also suggest you make a block off to kill the return from that bowl thereby killing the oem FPR and let the regulator on the ADII control fuel pressure. You can leave the sender where it is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-10-2012, 03:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I took the filter and stand-pipe out of the top bowl. I haven't hooked my fuel pressure gauge up just yet, is the port on the top bowl not a valid reading anymore??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kerrville
Posts: 863
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
should still be a good spot. only thing that changed is the filter is gone which that doesnt change the pressure. if you do studs the 175's should be fine. they are also good for towing and street. great on a stock turbo if you want to get the stock nozzle. if you get upgraded nozzles id say get a turbo to help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-10-2012, 07:57 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,969
Thanks: 3
Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If you block off the return line and let the ADII FPR control the pressure you would be better off to use the test port. With the oem return line blocked off you may end up with some trapped air in the cap which will throw the reading off. I suggest eliminating the oem FPR by blocking off the return line and letting the ADII handle things. Otherwise you have to set the ADII FPR higher than the oem FPR and the oem FPR just returns the excess fuel. I don't like the whole idea of two FPR's in the system fighting with each other.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors