I have some really needed to be answered questions! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 01-08-2012, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cape girardeau mo
Posts: 525
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have some really needed to be answered questions!

Ok, Everything that is on my truck is in my sig. Iam about to put injectors in it. I think iam going to put Warren 155's in just for the fact that iam not purchasing and turbo at the moment and do not want to get too hot! I was thinking about doing 175's but am a little lery. Iam going to get an Airdog II as well. Here is my questions
1. I have Glowshift gauges and i have a fuel pressure gauge and the sender that reads the pressure is on the fuel filter bowl. When i get an Airdog correct me if iam wrong but doesent that eliminate that filter? Where would my pressure read from?
Next question
2. Should i have my tuning revised for the injectors or will it be fine? I may do studs while iam in there so then i would get a new tune but if i dont then should i have my tune rewrote?
Thanks in advance , Travis!

2008 ccsb F250 lariat
SCT tuned by Gearhead Single 371, MPD CCV RCD pushrods ARPS

SOLD!2003 f250 4x4 crewcab lariat (03 Turbo)
Perfomance:
ARPs, 175/75 Industrial Injection, EGR delete, 5" MBRP,6.4 Banjo Bolts, Coolant filter SCT Innovative Xtreme X, PHP FICM tuner, AirDogII with Sump
2.5" level, 18" monsters with 33/13.00/18 Nitto Terra Grapplers
powerstroke 825 is offline  
post #2 of 7 Old 01-08-2012, 06:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dirty_Stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes you will need your tunes re-written for the injectors. Vivian tweaked mine when i got injectors. I think you'll like the 155s, the mid and top end power noticeably increased.



05 F250 FX4 Lariat, SCT Livewire, 155cc injectors, Gryphon FICM tuner, ARP studs, MTW Stage 2 Turbo, Riff Raff boots, Warren Built trans, PMF traction bars ,4 inch straight pipe, Sinister EGR delete, S&B CAI, N-fab bars, level kit, 5% limo tint, 35 Toyos and 20s, Recon smoked everything, Harley headlights, 5k HID's, Camlocker toolbox, lots more
Dirty_Stroke is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-08-2012, 07:07 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cape girardeau mo
Posts: 525
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok sweet man! And i think i may have found what i was talking about for my fuel pressure gauge. Does the airdog 2 take away the top filter?

2008 ccsb F250 lariat
SCT tuned by Gearhead Single 371, MPD CCV RCD pushrods ARPS

SOLD!2003 f250 4x4 crewcab lariat (03 Turbo)
Perfomance:
ARPs, 175/75 Industrial Injection, EGR delete, 5" MBRP,6.4 Banjo Bolts, Coolant filter SCT Innovative Xtreme X, PHP FICM tuner, AirDogII with Sump
2.5" level, 18" monsters with 33/13.00/18 Nitto Terra Grapplers
powerstroke 825 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-08-2012, 07:20 PM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Thanks: 4
Thanked 46 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
What you do with the top filter is up to you. You can take it out but you will have to remove the stand pipe from the bowl to get fuel to flow through it. I would suggest you do that as the filter is not needed with the ADII.

I also suggest you make a block off to kill the return from that bowl thereby killing the oem FPR and let the regulator on the ADII control fuel pressure. You can leave the sender where it is.
PGreenSVT is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-10-2012, 03:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dirty_Stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I took the filter and stand-pipe out of the top bowl. I haven't hooked my fuel pressure gauge up just yet, is the port on the top bowl not a valid reading anymore??



05 F250 FX4 Lariat, SCT Livewire, 155cc injectors, Gryphon FICM tuner, ARP studs, MTW Stage 2 Turbo, Riff Raff boots, Warren Built trans, PMF traction bars ,4 inch straight pipe, Sinister EGR delete, S&B CAI, N-fab bars, level kit, 5% limo tint, 35 Toyos and 20s, Recon smoked everything, Harley headlights, 5k HID's, Camlocker toolbox, lots more
Dirty_Stroke is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-10-2012, 07:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
rdunagan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kerrville
Posts: 863
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
should still be a good spot. only thing that changed is the filter is gone which that doesnt change the pressure. if you do studs the 175's should be fine. they are also good for towing and street. great on a stock turbo if you want to get the stock nozzle. if you get upgraded nozzles id say get a turbo to help

2009 Ford F-350 FX4 4x4, H&S 300HD, MBRP 5" DP back exhaust, S&B intake, sinister egr delete, 4" BDS lift with fox shocks, 20x12 fuel nutz, 37" toyos, Custom painted headlights by me


SOLD: 2006 Ford F-350 4x4 King Ranch,ARP Head Studs and all the works
rdunagan is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-10-2012, 07:57 PM
Super Moderator


 
PGreenSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,991
Thanks: 4
Thanked 46 Times in 18 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
If you block off the return line and let the ADII FPR control the pressure you would be better off to use the test port. With the oem return line blocked off you may end up with some trapped air in the cap which will throw the reading off. I suggest eliminating the oem FPR by blocking off the return line and letting the ADII handle things. Otherwise you have to set the ADII FPR higher than the oem FPR and the oem FPR just returns the excess fuel. I don't like the whole idea of two FPR's in the system fighting with each other.
PGreenSVT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome