Do I Need An Intake? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2012, 08:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Do I Need An Intake?

I was reading an article in Diesel Power Mag and different power combo's for 6.0s and they all included a cold air intake. I know I've read over and over again that the stock one is good for 500hp, but I'm just wondering if I'm at the power level that its time to get one?? I know I have plenty of fuel, so now I'm addressing the air side. They also installed larger intercooler pipes and a CFM+ intake elbow. I've read plenty of people say the CFM is a waste of money also
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-01-2012, 09:00 PM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas, GA
Posts: 5,813
Thanks: 81
Thanked 141 Times in 92 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I noticed a drop in EGT's and less smoke at WOT after the install of my S&B. Havn't had any issues out of it. I know they say the stocker is good to 500hp, but I know the S&B is allowing more air through. I wish I had done the intake and exhaust sooner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the reply man. I was thinking S&B if I get one. I really need to do something about my egt's so hearing you say you noticed a drop, makes me lean toward getting an intake even more
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:09 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
No you do not need an intake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Even with my 155's, AD2, Looney Wild?? I was thinking it should be close to the 500rwhp mark.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: LA
Posts: 510
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goose350 View Post
No you do not need an intake.
Is there proof of this? Of course the stock filters better but correct me Plz but ur not filtering the air your kids breathe! More exhaust needs more air? Right? More fuel needs more air and exhaust?


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:19 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Somewhere Between Good and Bad
Posts: 1,518
Thanks: 4
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goose350 View Post
No you do not need an intake.
Agreed. The stocker flows plenty of clean air. Aftermarket intakes typically flow more air - but less clean air. Turbos like clean air....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So I'm not at the 500hp mark yet? Haven't had the truck on a dyno, but rode in my bro-in-laws Duramax that put down 510rwhp and they feel REALLY close in power. He said the same after driving my truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:37 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty_Stroke View Post
Even with my 155's, AD2, Looney Wild?? I was thinking it should be close to the 500rwhp mark.
155s arent much more than stock.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Msims02 View Post
Is there proof of this? Of course the stock filters better but correct me Plz but ur not filtering the air your kids breathe! More exhaust needs more air? Right? More fuel needs more air and exhaust?


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
How about 6.4ls making well over 500hp on a stock airbox?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty_Stroke View Post
So I'm not at the 500hp mark yet? Haven't had the truck on a dyno, but rode in my bro-in-laws Duramax that put down 510rwhp and they feel REALLY close in power. He said the same after driving my truck.
LOL At the dyno and my cousins Dodge makes about 450 HP and my truck feels stronger than his. So that means I should be at 500 eh?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-02-2012, 08:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tuscaloosa, Al
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 2
Thanked 17 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I get what your saying, but Cummins are sometimes dyno queens. Grayson, did you read the thread about live tuning from Bill at PHP? Then I would get a chance to put my truck on the dyno and know for sure what she's putting down
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors