Understanding SCT Livewire programming - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2011, 03:37 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Understanding SCT Livewire programming

Do I understand correctly that when programming a truck, the SCT Livewire would only be need to be connected during the upload and then it could be disconnected and removed from the truck if you choose to do so? I have an opportunity to purchase a used SCT Livewire for a very fair price. I am thinking about doing this and using it as a programmer and monitor until possibly upgrading to an insight CTS in the future. I just want to be sure that if I choose to, I could remove the Livewire from the truck and plug in the CTS and still have my programming that was done with the Livewire.

Other than bulkiness and additional expense of the Livewire when new, is there a advantage/disadvantage or difference in the actual programming between the Livewire and a regular X-3?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-24-2011, 03:46 AM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: 08690
Posts: 1,039
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You are correct about being able to program the vehicle, then remove the handheld programmer. You will not be able to program multiple vehicles with the same handheld tuner unless you return the previous vehicle to stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-24-2011, 10:09 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East tn
Posts: 1,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yep, you are correct. I believe the x3 can adjust for tire size where the livewire cannot. Don't quote me though.

don't forget that the esc button turns the livewire on and off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-24-2011, 10:50 AM
Diesel is Power!!!

 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Delhi, Iowa
Posts: 156
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The livewire does adjust for tire size. Also the newest update also adds the ability to monitor oil temp.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-24-2011, 06:25 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So nothing wrong with the Livewire other than it is expensive to the original buyer compared to X-3? I bought my truck for towing, not everyday driving. The size of the Livewire does not bother me. I just want a good tool to program and the ability to keep an eye on things.

Thanks guys and Merry Christmas!

Last edited by BGIII; 12-24-2011 at 06:38 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-24-2011, 09:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,206
Thanks: 6
Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Yeah. I have one myself and use a insight to watch temperatures instead. That's one plus to the livewire that everyone hates them for there size and non-cool factor that they are dirt cheap. Sucks for me cuz I bought it new but perfect for the buyer. U can't beat a tuner and gauges for 200 bux or so
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-25-2011, 03:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East tn
Posts: 1,111
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
thanks bigmic for correcting me. And one big positive of the livewire, it is the BCT(birth control tuner) of tuners. No one will steal the thing. It is ugly, but for the average joe, it is just fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-26-2011, 09:09 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Roseville/Greenwood
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Live wire can read everything but fuel pressue, I run one. Does a great job, is a little bulky. Down the road when I feel the need and have all my other upgrades done I will go to a CTS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors