EGR removal gone wrong - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 08:16 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
EGR removal gone wrong

Hey, I'm new to this place but have been reading some of the info on here for a little while as I tackle my latest project. It's a 2003 F350 with a 6.0L diesel. I just picked it up for almost nothing and am trying to nurse it back to health. One of my first jobs was doing a EGR removal but upon inspection I found that the EGR system has already been tampered with.

Bear with me as I am new to the 6.0 and don't know all the technical terms and if someone can tell me how to post pics I can do that, or e-mail them.

So hear it goes;
It appears that the EGR cooler is already gone, and a block off plate is already installed in the up-pipe to the turbo. The inlet to the intake manifold is properly blocked off as well, and the EGR valve is still installed and hooked up, which as far as I can tell by reading on line and looking at pictures it seems as up to this point it is the proper way of doing things. Now the coolant lines on the other hand is a huge mess.

Normally from what I can tell by looking at pictures is once the cooler is removed a 'U' shape pipe is installed into the bottom of the intake manifold and loops back into a short aluminum casting on top of the oil cooler housing near the oil filter. Mine however is totally different and has been hacked together by some backyard mech that didnt know what he was doing.