question about stock tune prior to installing SCT X3 custom tune. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2011, 08:20 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question question about stock tune prior to installing SCT X3 custom tune.

I bought my truck as a repo (couldn't pass up price) and it has what I beleive to be an edge evolution tune on it. I could not find any evidence of Juice hardware, and it had Edge stickers all over it. My EDGE CTS is not able to detect anything, but it is just an insight.

I believe I need to have the dealer flash the struck back to stock before I can load any tunes, is this True? Also, is there any risk of damage by having Ford relash the PCM?

Thanks, currently getting tunes from innovative, and want them to work without hurting anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-18-2011, 08:57 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Roseville/Greenwood
Posts: 404
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well the edge untis do not per s ay tune the PCM, so no. But if it was someones like PHP tuner with a edge CTS as a monitor yes. Also known as a Gyraphon tuner. If I am not mistaken.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-18-2011, 07:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 351
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starr_302 View Post
I bought my truck as a repo (couldn't pass up price) and it has what I beleive to be an edge evolution tune on it. I could not find any evidence of Juice hardware, and it had Edge stickers all over it. My EDGE CTS is not able to detect anything, but it is just an insight.

I believe I need to have the dealer flash the struck back to stock before I can load any tunes, is this True? Also, is there any risk of damage by having Ford relash the PCM?

Thanks, currently getting tunes from innovative, and want them to work without hurting anything.

If it had an Evolution on it then yes get it flashed. I would recommend doing so if there is any question in your mind before ordering custom tunes as a hard way to find out that it will have to be reflashed along with new tunes being written which could entail costing extra depending on the tune supplier.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors