School Me! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2011, 10:33 AM
Turbos = Witchcraft

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
School Me!

When I bought my truck about 9 months ago, it came several mods already done, including a K&N Intake. In the process of adding lots of other mods and gathering a ton of great info on this site I have read a lot of posts about K&Ns killing turbos...
Up until coming here I've never heard anything bad about K&N, so can some one please tell me why the K&N is so bad, and what makes it different/worse than every other Intake that uses a reusable, oiled, cotton gauze filter media???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-25-2011, 10:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Im no pro on these intakes.. But just passing on the knowledge i've gained from here..

The K&N intake is oilable..like you already know.. but from what I understands happen... Is the turbo is going to pull so hard on that air-filter..that the oil will actually pull through the filter, and into the turbo... Thus in tern.. leaving you with a gauze materiel filter...and thats it...
Old 10-25-2011, 10:56 AM
Turbos = Witchcraft

That Kinda makes sense, but then why is this a problem for the K&N but not for other oiled filters like S&B, AFE, or Airaid to name a few?
Old 10-25-2011, 11:40 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
personally K&N has lost there backbone with their intakes and you just pay for the name now and dont get anything out of it! there quality has also gone down. aftermarket intakes in general on these trucks dont do any good until after 500hp. they just dont flow or filter as good.
Old 10-25-2011, 01:28 PM
Turbos = Witchcraft