Why would my SF3 lock on me? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2011, 05:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 552
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BennyLumpkin
Why would my SF3 lock on me?

It showed one unlock left when I started using it. Tried to change between tunes from a custom to a towing tune to tow the camper and my truck wouldnt start so I had to reload the stock tune. I did notice when I tried to start it and it wouldnt my Insight wouldnt work....said it couldnt read my trucks VIN. So after I loaded the stock tune it ran, but my SCT locked. Why? I've been in contact with SCT and they updated it and did all that fun stuff and said they were going to go over my stock file and call me back in 20min to half an hour....that was just after lunch today eastern time. So I dont know if they found a problem or what? But now I'm back to stock Any ideas why it would lock guys? This is my first programmer and I wanna know if its something I did....I followed the instructions of what the programmer told me to do. And yes I did buy it used and am kinda regretting that now....if I gotta pay the 150.00 to unlock I might as well have bought a new one.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-07-2011, 06:39 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,729
Thanks: 90
Thanked 188 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I read in one of your other post that you bought it used with Innovative tunes already on it. What most likely happened was, you used tunes written for someone else's strategy/year truck and caused it to lock out.

You can read about it hear in the first post.
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/sct...s-answers.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-07-2011, 06:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 552
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BennyLumpkin
It worked great on the Innovative tune, and I was going back to the Towing 65 tune because it was far too much to tow with.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-08-2011, 02:19 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,729
Thanks: 90
Thanked 188 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Here's what I'm thinking, but could be way off base! LOL!!

When you received the SF3, you didn't update the firmware/tune revision (canned tunes) before you loaded up the custom. The custom loaded up fine, then when you tried to go from custom to canned, the SF3 canned tunes weren't updated to the current (newer) strategy in your truck. This would make the canned tunes not work in your truck. So when you returned it back to stock, the SF3 recognized a new VIN and used up your last unlock.

Or, the SF3 might of had a bug (software clitch), and used the last unlock by mistake.

Let us know what happened, so others can learn (myself) what caused your issue. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-09-2011, 07:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 552
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BennyLumpkin
I think you're on the right track. I'm just hoping SCT will not bone me and make me pay the buck fifty to unlock it. Until this happened I was super happy with the performance. I'll keep you updated when I find something out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-12-2011, 07:45 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,729
Thanks: 90
Thanked 188 Times in 151 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Any word from SCT on what happened?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-13-2011, 04:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central PA
Posts: 552
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to BennyLumpkin
Brain fart....I didnt know to update the programmer, and that was apparently the issue. I sent it out Tuesday so hopefully I'll have it back soon.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors