sct x3 or sf3? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2011, 08:10 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sct x3 or sf3?

which is better for custom tuning the sf3 of the x3 from sct?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-01-2011, 08:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not the best on this but from my understanding you can do the same with both, one comes with custom tuning or "blank" and the other comes with 3 "can" tunes and is also capable of EGR delete out of the box.

Can call and talk to our tech guys Monday if you'd like.

Also, this upcoming week we are offering free next day air on SCT products.

-Matt H


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-01-2011, 09:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,648
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
You can't delete the EGR unless you physically do it. X3 is better in my opinion. The canned tunes are ****e. I've tried them and they are of little comparison to good custom tunes. Either way, you're spending 300 plus for a tuner and another 100+ for custom tunes. But its the best investment you can make.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-01-2011, 09:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I didn't mean it would physically delete it. I meant it has the option to turn EGR system off when you do physically delete it.

-Matt H


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-01-2011, 09:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,648
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
All SCT's are blank. It's just the buyers discretion as to what to put on them. You can only load 3 tunes at a time (on an SF3 or X3). The SF3 comes with canned tunes, occupying three of the slots; meaning you can't have custom tunes unless you remove them from the tuner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-01-2011, 10:36 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,732
Thanks: 93
Thanked 189 Times in 152 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcflan View Post
All SCT's are blank. It's just the buyers discretion as to what to put on them. You can only load 3 tunes at a time (on an SF3 or X3). The SF3 comes with canned tunes, occupying three of the slots; meaning you can't have custom tunes unless you remove them from the tuner.
What.....?

The SF3 and original X-3's Will hold canned and custom tunes at the same time. You are able to store 3 custom tunes and 5 canned tunes, that's a total of 8 tunes stored in the device for your use. The canned tunes are as followed.

Trans only tune
Towing 50hp
Towing 65hp
Street
Performance

To the OP, the canned tunes are "OK" but they don't compare to a custom tune. Once you try a custom tune, you'll almost never use a canned tune again.

As far as your original question, they are both equal in programming in a custom tune. The only difference is, the SF3 can/will hold canned and custom tunes, and the new style X-3 only holds 3 custom tunes.

If your looking to buy a SCT device used, there are some things to look for.
What to look for when buying used SCT for 6.0

Another thing to look out for when buying used is, sometimes the seller will sell the SCT device with custom tunes already on it. These tunes might not work on your truck strategy, now there are some strategies that are compatible with others, but unless you know for sure don't risk loading them into your truck. You might end up "locking out" your truck, in other words, it won't start or return back to stock so your stuck having to tow the truck to a dealer for the PCM to be reflashed for a fee.

You can read this info from Ken@SCT on post #1.
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/sct...s-answers.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors