edge insight with sct - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2011, 01:11 PM
Motor Head.
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,120
Thanks: 31
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
edge insight with sct

Ok here is my situation my edge insight cts was working fine,it was added before I did the sct custom tune.After the custom tune it still worked fine.Now the other day i took the insight off to do the latest update and to set it up fuel pressue,when I put it back on the truck,most of my important pids are gone like eot,boost,trans temp,ficm voltage etc... I called edge he said it's because sct tune is on my truck.Has anybody else had this happen,my truck is 04 ,this was and issue last year but I thought they got it fixed.Anybody have an idea.... thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-27-2011, 01:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I would also like to know since I also have the insight and looking to get an sct tuner. Maybe have you tried to contact your sct programer see if they have any answers?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-27-2011, 03:45 PM
Motor Head.
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,120
Thanks: 31
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Ok I called edge and they gave me and oder update.I put the stock program back on my truck,then installed the cts and had to manually put my vin number in ,after the unit reset ,I had my pids back.From here I installed my custom tune ,then plugged the insight back with the pids working fine.At this point foward,I guess I cant do any new updates.The guys from edge say it's sct taking out the VIN when you add the tunes.

Seems to me I thought if memory serves me that 03-04 trucks dont have the VIN number programmed to the pcm,thats why we have to manually put it in when you first put the insight on the truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-19-2011, 04:13 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 123
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I notice that I have to enter it in every time I update it or have it unplugged.

Sent from my ADR6300 using AutoGuide App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-19-2011, 04:42 PM
BANNED

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: A town you wouldn't know
Posts: 2,873
Thanks: 1
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not sure about the VIN being programed or not but my SCT shows my VIN (2004) when I go to my trucks information. When I unplug my CTS and plug it back in I have to select ford. After that, it shows my my VIN and asks if this is the correct vehicle. Click yes and I'm on my way, everything shows up just like it did before.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-19-2011, 04:51 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Park City KS
Posts: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That is what happen to me with an 04. I just assumed the VIN was held in the memory of the unit, and I it was a different truck you would have to change the VIN. I had to enter it manually the first time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-19-2011, 05:21 PM
BANNED

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: A town you wouldn't know
Posts: 2,873
Thanks: 1
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
O ok, I misunderstood you. I had to enter mine in manualy as well the first time. Not sure why my SCT can read my VIN and the CTS can't initially.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-19-2011, 07:43 PM
Motor Head.
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,120
Thanks: 31
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
have you'll did the latest updates ? I may have left it unplugged from the truck to long after doing the last update.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-19-2011, 08:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: covington
Posts: 1,763
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
does your mpg work on your cts? mine stays at 99.9 mpg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-19-2011, 08:09 PM
BANNED

 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: A town you wouldn't know
Posts: 2,873
Thanks: 1
Thanked 39 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stroker007 View Post
does your mpg work on your cts? mine stays at 99.9 mpg
I wish I got 99.9 mpg. Mine reads around 16-18 on the CTS but I'm not sure how accurate that is, it reads higher than the lie-o-meter on the overhead. I'll check it on my next fill up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors