Can I run a banks pda as gauges? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 02:38 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
seadoo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: -1 reviews
Can I run a banks pda as gauges?

I have an 06 stroke with sct tunes. I have my old banks six gun with pda. Can I put the six gun in on stock and still run my sct. Just curious for the pda gauge display?

seadoo48 is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 06:04 AM
Premium Member
 
Rick C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Yucaipa, CA
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont think so. You could try it by just plugging in the OBDII connector without the signal wires from the sixgun, but you definately will not be able to get EGT's as the signal passes through the sixgun.

2005 F-450 CC Fontaine Conversion
(It's the heavy GVW one with the Dana 135, 4:88's and bigger brakes)
Link Air Ride Suspension
Banks Stuff (CAC, Exhaust)
EDGE CTS
SCT x3 with Eric's tunes
Bullitt Proofed (EGR mod, Remote oil cooler/filter)
ScanGaugeII
Odyssey AGM's
High Idle Mod, CCV Mod
More $$$ to be spent i'm sure!
2001.5 Dodge 3500 CC
5.9 Cummins/6spd shaker
WAY too much reliable power
Turbo, injectors...you get the picture
Rick C is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 07:16 AM
The Silent Service

 
colo_dually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 55 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not something I would mess with. In the long run you're better off selling the Six-gun w/ PDA and getting an Edge Insight. A number of reasons for this. 1) You'll be able to get the EGT probe and Fuel Pressure with the Edge. 2) You'll have the FICM pid with the edge. 3) There won't be any electrical/software issues of trying to use the PDA without the Six-Gun.
colo_dually is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 09:03 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
seadoo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: -1 reviews
I just figures if I had the six gun in and wired and left in stock wouldn't be an issue? And could use my sct still that's all.. but it wouldn't work?

seadoo48 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 10:48 AM
The Silent Service

 
colo_dually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 55 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It may fault out on the connections not being hooked up. Not 100% sure how Banks programmed the unit.
colo_dually is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 10:54 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
seadoo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: -1 reviews
I would hook up the six gun completely just would run 6 gun on stock then upload the sct back on

seadoo48 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 10:58 AM
The Silent Service

 
colo_dually's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 5,309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 55 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not a good idea, a simple interface mistake, and you've stacked chips. (Which will only tear your truck up.)

Best thing to do is get rid of the PDA and get yourself the right monitor.
colo_dually is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 11:21 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
06powerstroke06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by seadoo48 View Post
I would hook up the six gun completely just would run 6 gun on stock then upload the sct back on
if you are going to use it for gauges, make sure the banks is completely unhooked from the truck when you program it with the sct. I would just get rid of it tho. Its to much of a hassle when changing tunes and there is a chance it will modify the tune still.
06powerstroke06 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-13-2011, 12:05 PM
Premium Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 28 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by seadoo48 View Post
I have an 06 stroke with sct tunes. I have my old banks six gun with pda. Can I put the six gun in on stock and still run my sct. Just curious for the pda gauge display?
You can, but I think along with all the other posts on this thread we are all in agreement that you should get rid of the Banks and buy a data monitor like the Edge Insight CTS.
a2elvis is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome