Edge CTS or DashDAQ - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2011, 03:42 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Edge CTS or DashDAQ

Is the edge CTS the best to monitor or is there another option?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-04-2011, 04:08 PM
IU Hoosier Fan


 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Solsberry, IN
Posts: 6,875
Thanks: 2
Thanked 32 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CTS for my vote

your gonna find most guys on here are gonna say the CTS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-04-2011, 04:31 PM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,956
Thanks: 3
Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
My vote goes to the CTS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-04-2011, 05:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,039
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not going to lie, a buddy of mine has the dashdaq with spartan tuning on his 6.0 and the thing is made like crap... compared to the CTS that is
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-04-2011, 05:55 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,425
Thanks: 26
Thanked 70 Times in 46 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I have never used anything else but the Edge CTS and I really like it. I like it mostly because of what it can be expanded to do. Like it can be expanded to read EGTs (like all other monitors), Fuel Pressure (no other monitor), oil pressure (no other monitor), any pressure or temperature you want to monitor can be done with the CTS.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:12 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 102
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What about the Banks iQ? Does it monitor the same things as the CTS?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-05-2011, 05:03 AM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,425
Thanks: 26
Thanked 70 Times in 46 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
To the best of my knowledge, the Banks IQ (which costs like twice what the CTS does) does in fact monitor all of the parameters that the CTS does. However, the factory PCM does not monitor EGTs (as most of know), fuel pressure, and oil pressure. There is no fuel pressure sensor on the 6.0s that would allow for any monitoring. With that being said, Edge has the ability to add on a universal input sensor that will allow the addition universal pressure sensors and/or temperature sensors and this is how you could monitor fuel pressure and oil pressure for that matter. The factory oil pressure sensor is just a pressure switch and not an actual pressure indicator. Therefore when oil PSI gets above 7 the gauge on your dash will read normal pressure. Now of course the Edge can also have an EGT probe added on as well. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-05-2011, 06:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,039
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the IQ doesnt cover all the PID's the edge does... trust me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-05-2011, 07:10 AM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,425
Thanks: 26
Thanked 70 Times in 46 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Well that is good to know. I am glad I went with my CTS. Now i just need to monitor actual oil pressure and I will be happy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-10-2011, 03:46 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 629
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Do you have to buy anything else to monitor fuel pressure? or just plug the CTS in and you get the reading?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors