eot probe location? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-03-2011, 06:04 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
eot probe location?

Purchased ISSPro EV2 ect and eot gauges . Where is everyone installing the Probe sensor for the EOT gauge? Is is true that if you install in inthe oil filter cap , you dont get true readings fdue to it not being in constant oil flow? Is it possible to steal signal from the oem sensor?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-05-2011, 08:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bucks County PA
Posts: 526
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Personally ive read both ways for the oil cap. some say it works great some say it doesnt.

I had the same problem when i bought my gauges. i ended up for the time being using the oil cap. and i can say from comparing with the scangauge, its always off and doesnt show true readings. its slower to respond and will give general temp readings but it does go up if temps start going up but not as fast as the oem sensor.

I am working on figuring out how to create a T fitting for the OEM sensor and the gauge sensor so i can read what the computer reads on my gauge. I have to find the thread sizes and all the info i had on it and start working on it again.

Jason
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-05-2011, 10:55 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,674
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I use the billet cap for oil temp, and checked the temp against my AE, no difference in temp. Oil goes thru the oil cooler first, then thru the filter, then to the OE oil temp sensor.

This link will give you your info you'll need if you want to "T" off the stock OE oil sensor.
http://www.amsoil.com/bypassfilters/...6.0/index.aspx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-05-2011, 03:47 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 72
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thank you for the info, If you would. Please share your findings with the rest of us. Do you think it could be possible to use a wire tap off the oem sensor and cut the gauge sensor totally out of the equation, Just a thought?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:19 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,654
Thanks: 28
Thanked 89 Times in 63 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Only if the guage would operate on the same resistances as the PCM does.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:26 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 409
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by windrunner408 View Post
Only if the guage would operate on the same resistances as the PCM does.
I think he is planning on putting a "T" in the oil port and running the oem sensor as well as the sensor for his aftermarket gauge.

Dik
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:28 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,674
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rescuemedic13 View Post
Thank you for the info, If you would. Please share your findings with the rest of us. Do you think it could be possible to use a wire tap off the oem sensor and cut the gauge sensor totally out of the equation, Just a thought?
You just can't cut out the OEM oil sensor out of the equation. The PCM needs to see the oil temp sensor in order to control the fan clutch, EGR,VGT,GP,fuel quantity, and timing.

You really only have a couple of choices for aftermarket oil gauges sensor locations. Billet cap, "t" off OEM location, oil psi test port, or OBDII reading.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:41 PM
BACKYARDIGAN


 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Huntington, WV
Posts: 4,654
Thanks: 28
Thanked 89 Times in 63 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rescuemedic13 View Post
Do you think it could be possible to use a wire tap off the oem sensor and cut the gauge sensor totally out of the equation, Just a thought?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SandawgK5 View Post
I think he is planning on putting a "T" in the oil port and running the oem sensor as well as the sensor for his aftermarket gauge.

Dik
By what he wrote he is trying to not use the sensor that comes with the gauge and instead use the factory sensor for inputting to his guage and I was stating that the only way that would work would be if the PCM used the same resistances as the gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-05-2011, 04:45 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 409
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by windrunner408 View Post
By what he wrote he is trying to not use the sensor that comes with the gauge and instead use the factory sensor for inputting to his guage and I was stating that the only way that would work would be if the PCM used the same resistances as the gauge.
Didn't realize you were responding to the wire tap.

Dik
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors