sct - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-27-2011, 07:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverton, Utah
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sct

ok I just bought a sct x3 part # 3000, i can load the 3 stock tunes but my truck won't crank. but when i load either of the 2 custom tunes it runs like a cut cat..... i have no software/ cd that comes with the chip new... and i found a usb plug off an old printer. so yeah any help would be great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-27-2011, 07:14 PM
information regurgitator
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,905
Thanks: 18
Thanked 180 Times in 167 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tagged because I just got one too, without a CD, If I have an issue maybe this can help me too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-27-2011, 08:14 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You don't need the CD, everything is on the SCT website.

To the OP, sounds like you bought a used original X-3 that holds canned and customs tunes. You need to update the SCT X-3 device. If your canned tunes are not working, it's because the X-3's Tune Revision is not updated to the newer Ford Strategy.

When buying a used X-3, you need to make sure you download the correct software from SCT website. The original X-3 and newer X-3 take different downloads. The serial number on the X-3 will determine which software to use.
What to look for when buying used SCT for 6.0
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-28-2011, 12:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverton, Utah
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok if i don't need the cd, where on the website do i go. i downloaded the update for my unit and it won't open what i downloaded.... i am at a stand still....

Update... found where to download the drivers and install the software. i installed the firmware for my device and now my screen went blank...

Last edited by Ford94stroker; 08-28-2011 at 10:42 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-29-2011, 05:03 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ford94stroker View Post

Update... found where to download the drivers and install the software. i installed the firmware for my device and now my screen went blank...
You might have installed the wrong Firmware, read this.
http://www.sctflash.com/support/inde...eid=37&nav=0,3
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-29-2011, 04:47 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverton, Utah
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
You might have installed the wrong Firmware, read this.
Which Firmware do I use for my X3/SF3? - SCT SupportSuite
k i went and double checked the firmware i needed, good site reference. But it still won't show anything but a blank blue screen... i have tried to install the firmware several times..


AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH

Last edited by Ford94stroker; 08-29-2011 at 06:03 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-29-2011, 06:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverton, Utah
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have tried everything i can.... i need more input from the my fellow sct guys..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-29-2011, 07:29 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Let's start from the beginning.

When you bought the used X-3, was it unlocked?

Does it have unlocks left?

Is this X-3 an original style or the newer style X-3?

Did you buy custom tunes, or are you trying to use custom tunes that the prior owner had in it?

When you updated the Firmware, did you return the truck back to stock first?

If all else fails, contact SCT, they can remote set-up your PC and X-3.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-29-2011, 07:36 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Riverton, Utah
Posts: 100
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
Let's start from the beginning.

When you bought the used X-3, was it unlocked?

Does it have unlocks left?

Is this X-3 an original style or the newer style X-3?

Did you buy custom tunes, or are you trying to use custom tunes that the prior owner had in it?

When you updated the Firmware, did you return the truck back to stock first?

If all else fails, contact SCT, they can remote set-up your PC and X-3.

yes it was unlocked 4 unlocks left. its the 3000 device (so i believe orig.)
. it had 2 custom tunes on it both uploaded fine on my truck but didn't run all so great.
yes before doing the firmware i did return it to stock ...

so it looks like they will have to remote set-up my pc and x-3
thanks for the help super super thankful
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 08-29-2011, 07:55 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,715
Thanks: 87
Thanked 186 Times in 149 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Part# means nothing when it comes to the X-3 and which firmware to use. You need to look at the serial number on the device to determine which firmware to use.

When looking at the serial number, the first two letters denotes which model you have, and which firmware to use. The original X-3's, the first two letters in the serial number will start with X3. The newer style X-3's have the first two letters starting with XP.

The original X-3 will use the same firmware/tune revision as the SF3.

You might have to manually install, click on X-3/SF3 FAQ's for trouble shooting.
http://www.sctflash.com/support/inde...gebase&_a=view
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors