SCT Tire Size Adjustment Doesn't Seem To Work? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2011, 04:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT Tire Size Adjustment Doesn't Seem To Work?

I've recently changed tire size which in turn cause error in my speedo reading. It was reading near dead on comparing to my GPS but now has about an 8% error. I have a custom tune and when it asked to change options then I chose that and changed the Revs\Mile to what matched my wheel size. This had no effect on the speedo error so I then changed the Revs\Mile by 50 and it still had no affect on the speedo

Am I going about it wong or can you not adjust these options off of a custom tune?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-07-2011, 04:52 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,018
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Adjusting revs per mile only changes shift points. It has no effect on your speedometer.


Return it to stock unlock your tuner and take it to the dealer. They can adjust your speedo for about 40 bucks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-07-2011, 05:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Adjusting revs per mile only changes shift points. It has no effect on your speedometer.


Return it to stock unlock your tuner and take it to the dealer. They can adjust your speedo for about 40 bucks
Serious? And the whole time I thought I had the capability of correcting speedo error I believe I was able to do that on my chevy 1\2 ton with a hypertech? That sucks, I was planning on having two sets of wheels and using the smaller ones when towing on an extended trip so I'll just have to figure in error I guess. Man I sure thought that was a perk of having the SCT.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-07-2011, 05:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 273
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by LTRMC02 View Post
Serious? And the whole time I thought I had the capability of correcting speedo error I believe I was able to do that on my chevy 1\2 ton with a hypertech? That sucks, I was planning on having two sets of wheels and using the smaller ones when towing on an extended trip so I'll just have to figure in error I guess. Man I sure thought that was a perk of having the SCT.
What device do you have?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-07-2011, 05:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ludlow MA
Posts: 922
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to mustangman02232 Send a message via Yahoo to mustangman02232
my truck has 4.10 gears, going from 265-75r16 (31") to 285-75r16(33") i now have the equivalent of 3.73s, reprogramed my truck as having so and my speedo is now dead on,

once i get my SRL cant i have it written into the tune for the proper tire size?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-07-2011, 07:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt@SCT View Post
What device do you have?
I don't really know as my SCT doesn't have the X3 or SF3 on the front of it? I think the model # was 3000 and it does say custom flash on the bottom of it. I just bought it new from MKM Customs back in November.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-07-2011, 10:17 AM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,971
Thanks: 3
Thanked 29 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You can change it with Autoenginuity.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-07-2011, 04:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Posts: 464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How much does the auto engunity cost?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-07-2011, 06:56 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Sassamansville, Pa
Posts: 9,674
Thanks: 86
Thanked 184 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny7231 View Post
How much does the auto engunity cost?
Raul at Stealth Diesel has it for $359, Total Ford Bundle with ProLine connector.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-08-2011, 02:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lilpooh View Post
Raul at Stealth Diesel has it for $359, Total Ford Bundle with ProLine connector.
I hope it does more than just allow speedo correction for that price? Anything else on the market that can just correct you speedo for less money? Still find it hard to believe that didn't put in that option, , as you know tire size changes are usually one of the most common mods done on a truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors