Remote Starter - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 02-28-2011, 07:41 PM Thread Starter

firsttofight11b's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Remote Starter

There might already be a thread for this, but I was wondering if anyone can give me some first hand experience with remote starters.

Just looking for people to make some recommendations for me on what they have used or know is good. Preferable 2 way starters.
firsttofight11b is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 5 Old 03-01-2011, 04:29 PM
Serving Our Country!
bozzo152's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have a autopage C3-RS730-LCD i love it

2006 KR
4"mbrp no cat
afe stage 2 intake
sct tuner
smoke switch

bozzo152 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-01-2011, 04:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
dangerranger99's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Walcott, Ia
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the PO of my truck put a viper 2 way remote start keyless and alarm on, i believe it is the 5901 model, 1 below the top model which has a color screen. So far so good. I love the remote start feature, it fires right up, tells me how long it has left to run, and is programmable from 12-60 minutes. it also tells cabin temp too. Not that it is necessary, but neat none the less

2004 F250 CCSB 4x4
True Blue
05 front end conversion with billet grille harley headlights and HID, EGR delete, 6.4 banjo bolts, rotella ELC, homemade coolant filter, 4 inch straight pipe, 6 inch stainless tip,2 inch pro-comp brackets, 3 inch rear blocks, Boost, pyro, fuel pressure, and trans temp gauges. SCT. 08 kr 20" wheels and tires
dangerranger99 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-01-2011, 07:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
jetjock15's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vegas
Posts: 3,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 133 Times in 115 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have a Clifford and it has worked great... Viper is made by same company, and is a great product line

06-Rize/dual-rate Kings/Deavers/4.56/37/American Force 22x12/RoadArmors/WARN 12k/Detriot F/R Lockers/ORU Hydraulic steer/ARPs/BW Heads/Warren155/30s, MTW S1Billet/GoGo Manifold/Banks IC/NADP Heavy Hauler Trans/PHP tow Tune/BPD HD oil cooler/Oil & Coolant bypass/AMP steps/TransferFlow tank-toolbox

jetjock15 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-02-2011, 09:01 AM
Premium Member
bondsman's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Python, Viper, Clifford, Avital, etc.... are all made by Directed Electronics. They all have models that are comparable to each other. Just depends on what features you are looking for. Goto the directed electronics site and check them out.
If you have an android, blackberry or iphone, there is the smart start feature that allows you to use your phone instead of a keyfob. That is a pretty neat feature. You could start your truck from the other side of the country if you wanted to.
Now for the other question you will have.... "How hard is it to install?" That depends on if you are willing to do the research. Best place to find info (that I have found) is It is a PITA to install. I soldered all of my connections on my Viper 5701. There are miles of wire and that box you have to try and tuck up under the dash. Mine took me about two days. Installed one in a friend of mine's truck in about 5 hours just because I knew where the wires were. The biggest problem people have is that it will only run for a few seconds then shut off. You have to hook up the tach wire and set the remote start to tach. Change the jumper to the lower threshold on the box and do the tach learn.
The experience was well worth the effort. I hate the idea of having some kid at bestbuy throw it together with a bunch of wire taps and it only last a few days before problems begin.

05 F250 4x4 CC, 9.5" Rize/Icon, 38" Toyos, 20x12 Pacers, 5" MBRP, AFE stage 2, Cass 190s, Powermax, ELC w/filter, RCD EGR delete
04 Excursion 4x4, vacation bus
Project 1979 F250 6.0 powered in progress

bondsman is offline  
Sponsored Links

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome