Problems with SCT X3 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 03:44 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Tonka Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Problems with SCT X3

I had to take my truck in and get a reflash due to some rough starting in the morning. I put my truck back to stock before going to the dealership. After I got the truck back I tried to install a tune but got a message that said my truck was not recognized. Went to SCT Performance - More Power! Less Fuel! and downloaded the software to update the programmer. I installed the newest firmware with no problems but when I try to install the newest program from the website, I get the error message below after going about half way through the programming. Does anyone have any ideas of how to fix this? I have tried 2 different computers, disabled antivirus software and any firewalls, and even tried a new USB cable.

Thanks in advance.


2005 F350 SRW 6.0L. Exhaust and XCal3.
Tonka Toy is offline  
post #2 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 03:57 PM
FJuanfiddy mod


 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,836
Thanks: 132
Thanked 186 Times in 166 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Did you unlock it when you returned to stock?

Email: Dave@powerstroke.org
2011 F150 Ecoboost Crew cab lariat. Custom tunes from KEM and 5Star, and Unleashed
2012 F150 Crew Cab Ecoboost stock for now-Totaled March 12 2015
2006 F250 ECSB Lariat 4x4

Leveling kit, 315/70/17 Kelly TSRs on Method race wheels
ARP studs and OEM gaskets done by Renegade Diesel
ECM and Atlas 40 FICM tuned by Bill at PHP SCT tunes by Truck Source Diesel. Gearhead, Innovative, Wildman and Tyrant diesel
Flowmaster/MBRP Hybrid Exhaust
Edge Insight CTS
Coolant filter
Bulletproof diesel FICM EGR Delete, Oil Cooler and Water Pump, and Light bar.
Dually LED lights from Stealth Automotive/Xpedition Outfitters
No Limit Fab 6.0 Cold Air Intake
http://www.bulletproofdiesel.com/default.asp
http://nolimitfabrication.com/
Dave is offline  
post #3 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Tonka Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It was my understanding that with the X3 that I didn't have to unlock it after going back to stock. The device status currently says unlocked.

2005 F350 SRW 6.0L. Exhaust and XCal3.
Tonka Toy is offline  
post #4 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine threw an error when I tried to load a new tune. I don't remember if it was the same as you are experiencing but a forced update did the trick for me. This after numerous tries to load the newest firmware from the SCT website. There's an option to force an update in the user interface. This option is separate from the update firmware button, you might give that a try. I would check to see exactly where the button I speak of is, but only have Macintosh computers at home... had to use a buddy's windows machine to perform the update on mine.


2003 F250 Lariat 6.0L
Lifted
Airaid Intake
SCT running Looney
ZooDad Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~
johny5 is offline  
post #5 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 05:36 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Tonka Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't see a force update. Here are the only options that I have.........


2005 F350 SRW 6.0L. Exhaust and XCal3.
Tonka Toy is offline  
post #6 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Tonka Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Attempted to install it again and left it plugged into the computer and got this error message, "invalid block write id".

I found another site that said you had to contact SCT about it and they could fix it. Anybody know anything about that? Do we have any SCT tech people on this site?

2005 F350 SRW 6.0L. Exhaust and XCal3.
Tonka Toy is offline  
post #7 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 06:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I believe it is under "automatically check for updates". Try that, it should say something about forcing an update. It may be after you select a different update function, sorry just don't remember. You are returned to stock, right? If so, you shouldn't have any worries. My stock tune as well as the custom tunes were still there after I updated mine. I'll try to boot in to Win7 to see but am not sure if it will show the option without the tuner connected, my Mac won't recognize the tuner even when booting Win7 in Vmware.


2003 F250 Lariat 6.0L
Lifted
Airaid Intake
SCT running Looney
ZooDad Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~
johny5 is offline  
post #8 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 06:25 PM
Premium Member
 
capcalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NWI
Posts: 909
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just a thought,when they do a reflash, does it change your stradegy? I've heard of this before and from what I can remember, they had to have their tunes re-written. I could be totally off base with my thinking but it was just food for thought. Check and see if your stradegy is the same.

'03 F350 6.0 CC dually lariat 4x4
Autometer gauges:
Pyro, boost, fuel pressure
Edge insight cts
Bulletproof EGR cooler (Blocked off)
Oil cooler rebuilt
Coolant filter
Delvac EC-1 ELC
Exhaust: MBRP 4" cat back with delete pipe
SCTx3 Tunes by Innovative and Gearhead
Swamps 58v FICM
High idle mod
SRW front wheel conversion
ARP head studs

capcalvin is offline  
post #9 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 06:33 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Tonka Toy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 124
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by johny5 View Post
I believe it is under "automatically check for updates". Try that, it should say something about forcing an update. It may be after you select a different update function, sorry just don't remember. You are returned to stock, right? If so, you shouldn't have any worries. My stock tune as well as the custom tunes were still there after I updated mine. I'll try to boot in to Win7 to see but am not sure if it will show the option without the tuner connected, my Mac won't recognize the tuner even when booting Win7 in Vmware.
I checked under automatically check for updates, and all of the options, and no where is there a force update. Just an FYI this is the very latest version of the upload software (2.9.5.2).

Quote:
Originally Posted by capcalvin View Post
Just a thought,when they do a reflash, does it change your stradegy? I've heard of this before and from what I can remember, they had to have their tunes re-written. I could be totally off base with my thinking but it was just food for thought. Check and see if your stradegy is the same.
I do not have any custom tunes installed on this X3. It is only the canned tunes that came with it from SCT. I believe it changed the strategy but from what I understand that shouldn't matter for the canned tunes.

2005 F350 SRW 6.0L. Exhaust and XCal3.
Tonka Toy is offline  
post #10 of 21 Old 01-15-2011, 06:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you try to just "update", was that an option? I tried but cannot view it on mine. My FW was the most current as well, thus the dialogue box asking if I wanted to force an update. Maybe update is not the correct command, restore?.... Sorry, shooting in the dark here not being to check on mine. Ive only done it once b/c of not being able to load a custom tune.

Can you let me know what options / dialogue boxes you have when you select "automatically check for updates" with your device plugged in. It may also need to be in program mode.


2003 F250 Lariat 6.0L
Lifted
Airaid Intake
SCT running Looney
ZooDad Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~
johny5 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome