How much Horse power can i stock 5r110 hold up to - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-25-2010, 07:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gillette Wyoming 82716
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How much Horse power can i stock 5r110 hold up to

Hey guys im sure its on here some where, but i was wondering how much horse power a stock 5r110 trans can hold up to.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-25-2010, 08:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
daily driver i have read on the forums about 500hp. then about that level is where you start seeing suncoast heavy duty rebuilds in the guys signatures. i know trucks run more power through them but it all depends on how hard you are on it, tranny temps, and filter/fluids. lets see if some guys with big power post up to help you out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-25-2010, 08:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: California
Posts: 4,259
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea it will handle 500 hp, but if the driver keeps pushing that power it will not last for long.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-26-2010, 04:04 AM
Lt. Negativity
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Stafford
Posts: 1,732
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Like stated it all matter how you drive it, mine is over 500hp and still on a stock trans no problem but I dont dog it every day.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-26-2010, 07:09 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
dont trust it over stock. if u wanna get on it and show off ur 500hp everynow and then u dont wanna be embarressed when ur stock tranny goes boom. i blew mine up by runing just a sct tunner and my buddy blew his up 2 months ago with a bully dog tunner. bully dog does tune the tranny so maybe that was his prob but mine was tuned with the sct. and let me add thesem two trucks are nowhere near 500hp!!!!!!!!!

mine blew awhile ago and since then ive done work to mine about 575 hp right now and ive already tore a few suncoast apart.... so 500 on a stock? i think not for long
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-26-2010, 07:11 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
if u drive around likea granny ya itll hold 500 but why have 500 hp then? see what i mean? for relibility put a tranny in if u wanna have 500hp
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-26-2010, 07:14 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gillette Wyoming 82716
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well guys thanks for all the info. yeah right now i am having slipping problems with my i have do have alot done to it and i have to keep my tuner on stage 4 cause after stage 4 the trans likes to act funny it starts to jerk real hard.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-26-2010, 08:18 AM
Banned
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ya deff get a tranny. ill sell u my suncoast brnd new for a good price
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-26-2010, 08:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gillette Wyoming 82716
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm interested shoot me a price
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-26-2010, 08:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Spring, Tx
Posts: 375
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tails, you say anything passed level 4 the tranny slips, what tuner do you have?

if its banks, superchips, or any generic tuner thats probly your issue right there.

whats all done to the truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors