programmer or monitor - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 05:40 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
TheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: jackson ga
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
programmer or monitor

Hey guys i got an 2006 f350 crew king ranch that i want to leave stock but would like something to monitor everything going on....what do yall suggest was looking at an edge insight but not sure if you can leave stock and just monitor stuff like oil temp and other major items.....new to this so plz help....keep in mind gotta a small billfold!!!!
TheKing is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 05:55 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
diablos30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: goldsboro, north carolina
Posts: 4,134
Thanks: 3
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes the edge insight will not tune the truck and is just used to monitor. look for a used one on here.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
diablos30 is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:02 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
majorleaguebass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Carthage, Tx
Posts: 573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
alligator diesel has them on sale for 232.00

2015 F350 Platinum
TK Performance
4" Rancho w/ Fox Shocks
24" American Force Independence
37" Toyo Mt
Custom Bullydog Cheats
5" Flo-Pro
H&S Intercooler Upgraded Pipe
majorleaguebass is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:06 AM
Member
 
bailman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
edge insight is a great way to do it but i would add a egt probe as well so it can also monitor your exhaust gas temps.
bailman72 is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:15 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
TheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: jackson ga
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do you know what all it does monitor
TheKing is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:22 AM
Member
 
bailman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the insight cs monitors eot, egt, ect, boost, load, trans temp, voltage, rpms.....it can check for diagnostic codes, and do performance tests like 0-60 and 1/4 times....thats what i can think of off of the top of my head
bailman72 is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:29 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
TheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: jackson ga
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
is there others out there that are good like the edge or are theres the best monitor.....can you adjust tire size and trans shift with this one or is that with actual tuner
TheKing is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:33 AM
Member
 
bailman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tire size yes....and i believe you will need an actual tuner for shift adjustments....i did a lot of research on here and was back and forth between the edge or gauges and everyone that had the edge loved it so i went that route and have absolutely no regrets
bailman72 is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:37 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
TheKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: jackson ga
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so it will adjust speedometer with tire size entry then
TheKing is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 11-14-2010, 06:40 AM
Member
 
bailman72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 87
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes it will adjust the speed on the actual unit you just need to enter stock tire size and what you have now
bailman72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome