Turbo Run-On after shutdown? Anybody had this? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2010, 09:36 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Turbo Run-On after shutdown? Anybody had this?

Hey guys, yep, I'm a newbie here. I'm also a newbie to diesels and turbos. I know absolutely nothing about either! I bought my 05 F-250 6.0 about 4 months ago and everything has been great...till yesterday.
Well, last night when I got home and shut the engine off I hear something sounding like a fan still running but slowing down. Lasted for a few seconds before coming to a stop. I started the engine and shut it off again...same thing. I popped the hood to try to determine what it was and did it again. Definitely coming from the top side of engine back around the turbo area. It just sounds like a fan running and it takes it a few seconds before it winds down. I test drove it and everything seemed to be working normal, turbo included. Nothing running hot or anything out of the ordinary. I pulled up to my garage and let it idle while I was listening. All of a sudden the engine started running a little rough, sounded like it was missing. I pushed the accelerator to see if it would clear up and it was like nothing there. Would not accelerate at all even if I puched the pedal to the floor. Seems like it went into some kind of safe mode from what I've read. It went dead after a few more seconds. About 10 minutes later it started back up and seemed to be running okay again but the fan noise was still there when I shut the engine off. I disconnected a small 2-wire plug up by the turbo (not sure what it is) and tried it again. The fan noise stopped. I'm guessing I disconnected the turbo.