SCT Livewire? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-02-2010, 08:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newark ca
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
SCT Livewire?

I am looking in to getting the SCT livewire programmer but I always hear everyone talk about the X3 programmer in the livewire just as good?
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-03-2010, 05:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Charlotte Hall, MD
Posts: 315
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The livewire should be better...i think they are the same pre programmed tunes...but the live wire show diagnostics...and i think can hold more tunes. i just got a TSX and love it...didnt love the price.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:24 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newark ca
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok thats what I thought just wanted to make shure, the tsx is nice but little to much for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:25 AM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,982
Thanks: 4
Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The gauge function of the Livewire sucks. All you need for downloading tunes is an X3. Put the difference into real gauges or an Insight.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:29 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newark ca
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does the livewire have it so I can chang between my tunes on the fly?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:33 AM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,982
Thanks: 4
Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal smoker View Post
Does the livewire have it so I can chang between my tunes on the fly?
No. None of the SCT devices do because they actually download new code into the PCM. You can't do that on the fly. The change on the fly devices operate by tricking the PCM with false data. Which do you think is the better way to go?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:40 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newark ca
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok so I think I'll go with the X3 and spend the rest on some gauges. What gauges would you recommend I get, Tranny, oil, and what other water?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:41 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 20,356
Thanks: 23
Thanked 24 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Raul@Stealth Automotive
i would opt to not go with the livewire.... i would go with a custom tuned X3 and some regular gauges or the edge insight for the gauges...

like this:
SCT X3 Custom Innovative Diesel Tunning/ Gauge Combo Kit
SCT X3 Custom Innovative Diesel Tunning/ Gauge Combo Kit

-Raul
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:47 AM
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abingdon, Md.
Posts: 11,982
Thanks: 4
Thanked 31 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcal smoker View Post
Ok so I think I'll go with the X3 and spend the rest on some gauges. What gauges would you recommend I get, Tranny, oil, and what other water?
I can't recommend the Edge Insight highly enough. You would need a whole cab full of traditional gauges to give you the functionality of the Insight. Personally I monitor EGT, Trans Temp, EOT and ECT on my primary screen. I have 3 other screens set up differently depending on what I'm interested in seeing at the time. It also displays and clears DTC's (trouble codes). You can't do that with traditional gauges. Check the links Raul posted above. He is a vendor here and will take good care of you.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-03-2010, 07:48 AM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Newark ca
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thats what I will do right there thanks Raul. So this programmer comes with Innovative Diesel's custum tunes. I don't see the Insight on the web site he posted? The insight isn't a tuner its just a guage is this correct?

Thanks for all your guys help.

Last edited by Norcal smoker; 05-03-2010 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors