What can I don for MPG? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2010, 07:37 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What can I don for MPG?

I have a 06 F250, 8" lift with 38's. Have a edge programmer with screen, 4" exhaust and K&N cold air. I am not crazy about the edge programmer, It don't run right the first time I drive the truck that day, Once it gets going it fine but the first drive of the day it don't want to shift and real weak feeling. So I put the stock tune back in and have it there if I need it. I havent hand calculated the mpg but the factory is showing its getting 13 to 14 highway. The problem is I don't drive highway alot. What are some suggestions on bumping the mpg up. Im new to all of this diesel stuff. If I could get the mpg up I would keep the truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-08-2010, 07:40 AM
shaking things up

what gears are you running in the diffs? ditch the edge get an sct with custom tunes on it from innovative, elite, ect... also get gauges. boost trans temp adn egt at the min trans and EGT.
Old 04-08-2010, 07:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Seriously.....you didn't buy a PSD with 8" lift on 38" tires and expect to get good MPGs did you?

If you get 14-15 you're doing good, IMO. Your gauge/MPG is not correct as its not corrected for big tires. You have to adjust. Your adjustment is somewhere in the 15-18% range higher(off the hip here, didn't do math to figure it out for you) than the gauge tells you.

If you're running around town a lot, don't expect much above 12 mpg....its a big, heavy truck, moving it from a stop takes a lot of energy.