Did I just buy a bad SCT X3? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Littelton CO
Posts: 221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did I just buy a bad SCT X3?

Well I found a used X3 on craigslist and talked the guy down to $150 (thought is was a good deal). When I plugged it into my truck it seemed to wok just fine, he had used it on a SHO. So I knew I was going to have to have it reprogrammed. Now when I plug it into my computer it turns on for one second then turns off. I have tried updating the frimware however it states it failed to write a bulk of the program. Anybody have anykind of problems like this? Should the SCT come on when it is plugged into a computer? Hope I didnt get screwed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:12 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,293
Thanks: 122
Thanked 123 Times in 109 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Yes it should power on when you plug in the USB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-15-2010, 10:13 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,796
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Mine comes on when I plug it in . I would call someone at SCT or PM them from here, and ask what it needs

That's funny that you bought that, we were talking about that guy in the CSP chat thread.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Littelton CO
Posts: 221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CRAP!!!!!! Hopefully SCT gets back to me soon so I can see if this is savagable. Plug it into my truck and everything seems to work fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-15-2010, 09:25 PM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaumont Texas
Posts: 4,098
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
I had to have one unlocked from SCT.... $150 to unlock it.

Does it power up when you plug it into the truck?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-16-2010, 04:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Littelton CO
Posts: 221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea as stated... when its plugged into the truck everything works just fine. Even says it has 5 unlocks left.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-16-2010, 04:27 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lumberton, TX
Posts: 855
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try changing the port you plug it into. Sounds a bit silly but I had the same issue with mine, and it was brand new. I kept plugging it into a powered USB hub, the screen would light up for like 2 seconds then go back off. Plugged into the truck it worked great. Just for giggles one day I hooked it to a USB port on my wife's laptop and it stayed powered just like it was supposed to. Tryed it on the powered hub on my comp again and nothing. Moved it to one of the ports on the front of the case and it worked fine. Apparently they are a tad picky on where you plug them into. Seems mine prefers being plugged straight into a header off of the motherboard.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-16-2010, 04:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Littelton CO
Posts: 221
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'll give it a try but I'm not holding my breath
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-16-2010, 11:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Moose jaw,saskachewan,canada
Posts: 2,022
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have found with some things an external usb hub does not put out enough power.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-16-2010, 03:08 PM
Another 6Slow
 

Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: yorkville, IL
Posts: 431
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
alright sorry to hijack this is gonna sound stupid but when i have the livewire hooked up to my truck i cant get it to turn off unless i unplug it, i used to be able to push the knob for a few seconds to shut it off but after i sent it out to have it fixed it won't shut off. i know this is really stupid but i can't figure it out lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors