SCT HELP!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2010, 07:24 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Angry SCT HELP!!!

I am having some serious problems with my sct X3 i just got from IDP. I tried to update the firmware and now everytime I try to do anything the updater I get a error: failed to read data about 10 times then i get another error after that say that it is not a sct device. The updater said that the new firmware loaded but wont do anything now. it just lights up the backlight if i plug it into my computer or my truck.please HELP!!!!!!!

Last edited by xXWarfare198Xx; 02-17-2010 at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-17-2010, 07:56 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
if you just got the tuner from IDP there shouldn't have been any need to do a firmware update. I can tell you now, that you have a non compatible firmware update in the tuner, what you are describing (backlight only no display) is a what typically happens when you load the incorrect firmware into the tuner.

On the firmware that you saved to your computer, copy and past the title, should be something to the effect of X3P-FW12116-US-3000-FORD-PRODUCTION.LWU
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the firmware update is XC3FWv11155-3000-PRODUCTION.LWU My computer will not recognize the x3 after i did the update
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
try this first


Click on Start/
Then Right Click on My Computer/
Then Hit Properties/
When the System Properties Window Opens Up Click on the Hardware Tab/
Then Click on the Device Manager Button.

Within the Device Manager list, we are looking for an item with a Yellow Exclamation Mark. It may say LIVEWIRE, UPGRADE LOADER, UNKNOWN DEVICE or others.

Right click on the item that has the Yellow Mark on it, and then click on Update Driver.

This will open the FOUND NEW HARDWARE WIZARD. Let it search automatically and install the drivers.

NOTE: This will only work if the software has been installed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:09 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i tried that when i was going the sct troubleshooting it comes up saying that the wizard could not find a better match for your hardware
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
when you loaded the new firmware, you held the cancel button down while plugging in the core, correct?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:15 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes yessir for about 3 seconds like it said too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
whats your email address?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:17 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
dworkman126@yahoo.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-17-2010, 08:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
I just sent you a file to try, see how it works.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors