Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Expected performance with current mods?

2K views 15 replies 6 participants last post by  Master_Chase 
#1 ·
Hello! I tried searching the forum but couldn't really find anything that fully answered my question. I'm curious if my truck is where it should be performance wise based off of what is done to it. I'm new to diesels and none of my friends have a 6.0 to compare it to.
Basically, I have a 2006 F250 6.0 with an automatic tranny with 170,000 miles. All I have done to it is an egr delete kit (Straight pipe, no block off plates), a SCT4 tuner, blue spring upgrade, and a coolant filter. Everything else is stock, no lift or anything. Oil and air filter changed 3k miles ago. I typically drive on performance mode because I get the best mileage that way. But if I'm towing something then I switch it over to a towing mode.
In performance mode when I accelerate from a dead stop, the truck is a dog until the rpms rise up and I'm going at least 15 to 20 mph then it'll take off. If I push my foot down more until the rpms rise up, all I do is shoot out a bunch of black smoke and very slowly accelerate until it reaches a certain speed and then takes off. Is that normal? In the other modes it acts the same way, but I don't see any smoke and when it does take off its considerably slower. I know there's supposed to be turbo lag and everything, but I feel like it shouldn't be this slow from a stop? Are other 6.0's able to spin the tires from a dead stop? It's to the point where I have to wait for a very open road before I can turn onto it in fear of not accelerating fast enough.

See less See more
#2 ·
You don't have a gasser, don't drive it like one. You can't just mash on the pedal and expect it to go, it will lag until the boost builds, then it will take off.

Reactions: peixinho
#3 ·