Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

question about square BPD egr cooler.

6K views 45 replies 12 participants last post by  Evil Eye 
#1 · (Edited)
I really hate to do post this question. Honestly I am extremely tired of searching through threads upon threads to find one specific thing about this kit.

Got this BPD EGR cooler in the mail today. I can't remember, but I'm 90% sure the tang that mounts the cooler to the intake, on the up pipe side, had a nut welded on there???
If not, can someone please briefly explain the proper way to anchor that bolt to the cooler.
I know that I can probably fennagle a nut in there, but I'm pretty certain when I pulled it off, there was a nut anchored to the cooler.

This is a long story, and the rest of this just comes from my frustration with BPD at this point:

I ordered the air/oil kit from BPD. I have little to zero experience with auto/diesel maintenance, but I was a Helo mech for 9 years in USMC, so I have some level of mechanical aptitude. Any way, the sales guy for BPD had me read him my vin, and despite my truck being a 2004, he tells me I need a round EGR cooler. Okay.

So I get it in, takes me most of Friday to get everything off. Saturday I'm putting everything on and I realized The EGR cooler is round. So I have to wait till Monday, call the guy, argue with him. Long story short, I guess the previous owner put an 04 motor in. So I have to send back the new cooler to get the square one and it takes a week to get there. The following Monday, they ship the right one, and it gets in today, Saturday.

So, I've been out a truck for TWO WEEKS. I'm in college, and with summer semester, every thing I've done maintenance wise has been data dumped. But I'm pretty sure that square EGR cooler is supposed to have a nut on it.