Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

05 6.0 upgrade help

753 views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  mhatlen 
#1 ·
My truck sits motor wise stock 65,000. I would like to eventually do a tuner and exhaust kit, as well as some upgraded injectors possibly. What would be recommended as far as a monitoring system? Would I have to bulletproof or can i avoid taking the heads off? Do I purchase a chip or a reprogrammer and what would I need to look for in an exhaust. Im fairly new to the 6.0

#2 ·
4" Exhaust all the way back, remove the cat converter if you can.
SCT Tuner go with a custom tune for no studs.
PHP Ficm tune " Atlas40 "
Edge makes great Monitors for trucks.

A aftermarket fuel pump is a good idea to keep injectors healthy

#4 ·
The SCT only tunes the ECM and since you don't have head studs get a good custom tune from WPE, PHP, TSD, Gearhead, Innovative, Quick tricks, etc. The FICM tune helps with throttle response and sometimes a little boost in MPG above what the SCT can give you. The fuel pump is to help keep your fuel PSI up incase your stock one can't keep up look at the 6.7 fuel pump install.

http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/6-...iscussion/992922-my-6-7-fuel-pump-instal.html

#6 ·
These truck have several computers that control how they run, a FICM tuner only changes the FICM. An SCT tuner can only tune the ECM.

Since you haven't bulletproofed the truck with ARP head studs yet DO NOT put a bigger turbo or injectors in it, the stock injectors and turbo can blow a head gasket. I recommend that you get a custom tune from PHP, WPE, TSD, Gearhead, Quick tricks, etc because the included tunes were junk on my truck.

For an Exhaust do a 4in Turbo back and remove the catalytic converter if you can. I have an MBRP 3 1/2in downpipe to cat delete, then 4in to a 5in tip.