Another SCT X3 help thread. Sorry - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2009, 06:15 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Another SCT X3 help thread. Sorry

When I plugged the X3 into my truck to program it, it came back with "Unlock ECM failed". I bought it brand new and I've looked around the forums for help but I can't find anything about it. Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-19-2009, 06:59 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 98 Times in 93 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stk1130 View Post
When I plugged the X3 into my truck to program it, it came back with "Unlock ECM failed". I bought it brand new and I've looked around the forums for help but I can't find anything about it. Any suggestions?
It does this when you first plug it in? Can you get to any of the sub menus?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhanna6powerstroke View Post
It does this when you first plug it in? Can you get to any of the sub menus?
No, I can get to all of the sub menu's. The problem occurs when I go to program vehicle. I select the tune that I want to run and when I click begin programming it stops for a little, then comes up with the error message. If it helps, it also says that it can't upload the stock file from my truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
try returning to stock from the menu then try it? i dont know it might help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:14 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 98 Times in 93 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stk1130 View Post
No, I can get to all of the sub menu's. The problem occurs when I go to program vehicle. I select the tune that I want to run and when I click begin programming it stops for a little, then comes up with the error message. If it helps, it also says that it can't upload the stock file from my truck.
When it asks you, do you select "pre-loaded" or "custom"?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:16 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I select custom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:27 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 98 Times in 93 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stk1130 View Post
I select custom
Ok. Have you already sent your PCM strategy code in and gotten the custom files burned and emailed to you?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:33 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I actually just did that a few hours ago. They downloaded onto the programmer and I can see them when I select custom tunes or whatever in the Program Vehicle submenu. Looking through other threads, I keep seeing people say download 3 things from the sct website, yet when I try to download the software, I only see 2 things to download, the device firmware and the device update software.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:39 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,481
Thanks: 5
Thanked 98 Times in 93 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stk1130 View Post
Yeah I actually just did that a few hours ago. They downloaded onto the programmer and I can see them when I select custom tunes or whatever in the Program Vehicle submenu. Looking through other threads, I keep seeing people say download 3 things from the sct website, yet when I try to download the software, I only see 2 things to download, the device firmware and the device update software.
I haven't gotten that far with custom tunes yet. Will it let you load the pre-loaded tunes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-19-2009, 07:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 74
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'll go try it now, but I was under the impression that teh new X3's had no canned tunes?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors