Turbo Lag? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-13-2009, 08:24 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Turbo Lag?

I am new to the 6.0Ls. I purchased a 2007 F250 a few months ago. It already has a k&n air intake and a 5 inch magnaflow exhaust with a 4 inch downpipe. When taking off the turbo is very slow to spool up. What is the safest way to fix this. I am not a big fan of programmers because I have not had good luck with them. Thank you for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-13-2009, 08:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

You might consider getting rid of the K&N fillter. Ive been told about the only thing a K&N filter will stop is a a humming bird. How much lag are you talking about?
Old 07-13-2009, 08:34 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Getting rid of the Cat & Muffler made a big difference in the turbo lag on my truck, but adding the tuner made a huge difference.
Old 07-13-2009, 08:49 AM

Is a good 3-4 seconds before it starts to take off. I have heared that k&n arent very good. Do you know if I could just buy a filter from airaid or aFe, so I dont have to buy a complete intake?

Last edited by RobertCgdll; 07-13-2009 at 08:54 AM. Reason: forgot something
Old 07-13-2009, 08:51 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by LoCo View Post
Getting rid of the Cat & Muffler made a big difference in the turbo lag on my truck, but adding the tuner made a huge difference.
I thought on a 6.0L you could not straight pipe them? My buddies dad did that to his 2004 and the turbo went crazy. What programmer is the safest? I dont want to have to drop a 5000 dollar tranny into it.
Old 07-13-2009, 09:11 AM