OBD port - multiple connections - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-09-2009, 06:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Beach Md
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OBD port - multiple connections

I happily have the Banks 6-gun tuner - it plugs into the OBD port under the dash. I want to get the Edge as a guage only. But it plugs into the OBD port too. So how do I plug both into the single OBD port?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-09-2009, 06:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,181
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
subscribed. i have wondered the same......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-10-2009, 01:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KCMO
Posts: 831
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You ditch the banks, get custom tunes and then plug in your gauges to the obd port
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:04 AM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubenk View Post
You ditch the banks, get custom tunes and then plug in your gauges to the obd port
I'll second that!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-10-2009, 04:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Beach Md
Posts: 1,423
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I started this thread as a legitimate problem to overcome that does not include your personal choice in tuners. As the thread stated - I'm happy with my Banks.

This thread isnt to qualify or disqualify a particular tuner but how to overcome an issue. There has got to be a part number out there somewhere that would allow multiple connections to the OBD port. Maybe Summit or Jegs or somewhere like that.

The arrogance of simply getting another tuner doesnt really solve anything.

Now - back to the original question - does anyone know how to make multiple connections to a single OBD port?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-10-2009, 04:34 AM
Raging Lunatic

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 8,809
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I can't help you with your issue, but I agree with your sentiment.

One would think there is an adapter of some sort to piggyback.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-10-2009, 04:34 AM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Anyway to get a OBD connector from a wrecked truck, and splice into the orginal connector...may take some time, but probably be cheaper than ordering a connector like your looking for...If theres one out there.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know if you're going to be able to use both of these devices at the same time. The physical connector can be modified to plug into both of them but I'm not sure that they can both work on the J1850 bus at the same time.

One potential issue is that both the Six-Gun and the Edge probably use the same address. The standard defines a default address for scan tools and doesn't reserve any other addresses. As a result when someone designs something to plug into the OBD port they would tend to use the scan tool address expecting it to be available.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,353
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
why dont you just get the banks PDA?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:36 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,061
Thanks: 112
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abrannan19 View Post
why dont you just get the banks PDA?
This would be the easiest solution to your problem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors