SCT help - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Performance Parts Discussion What has or has not worked for you?

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-07-2009, 11:55 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Exclamation SCT help

hey guys, I've never used an SCT before. I got the program loaded on the computer, got the tunes loaded on the sct, but whenever I go to load the tune onto the truck (04 6.0 - buddies dad's) it keeps saying that there is an "error opening file.

whats the deal?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:02 PM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Have you tried all the tunes you received?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:10 PM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,692
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Does the computer your using have Vista?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:20 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goose350 View Post
Have you tried all the tunes you received?
not all but I have tried several different ones. Right now I'm just trying to load some of the free spartan tunes that they gave out a while back.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TwinTurboStroker View Post
Does the computer your using have Vista?
no I've tried with 2 different XP computers.


y'all think it is the spartan tunes? when I open up the device software it says that they load correctly and I can see all the tunes on the SCT.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:21 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
try to get a new copy of the tune. old one may be corrupt. is the tune written for his 6.0??? you can try erasing the tunes from the unit and reload them..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:22 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
sorry, i posted late. sounds like it is one of spartans generic tunes from the archive.. i never had any issues with those loading.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:24 PM
Let's Run'em


 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 17,692
Thanks: 4
Thanked 14 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TwinTurboStroker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob View Post
try to get a new copy of the tune. old one may be corrupt. is the tune written for his 6.0??? you can try erasing the tunes from the unit and reload them..
I agree with Rob, maybe something is happening while they are downloading, do you have any kind of firewall or anti virus scanning them?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:30 PM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,529
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
no firewall problems. i have tried to reload them several times on the tuner and it still isn't working. The SCT says it is locked, but it also says it is locked to this truck.

I didn't say this at first cuase I just remembered. I went to load the tune the first time and it said preparing to download and went through it's little status bar. Then it said to turn key on and press select. did that and then it came back with the error cannot open file etc...

now as soon as you try to load a tune it says cannot open file before it does anything else.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:30 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
hmmmm, they should load right to the tuner, then ba able to load right to the truck.. is the truck in question stock right now?? is live load up to date???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-07-2009, 12:31 PM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
have you tried to unlock the tuner???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors