Brake Controller Problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Ford Excursion Discussion This forum is for topics relating to the excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2009, 06:44 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake Controller Problem

I just installed the Prodigy P3 in my '03 Excursion. The X has the "Trailer Towing Option" which means, among other things, I have preinstalled seven-pin wiring between the dash and the bumper. Here is my dilemma (or not).

I installed the P3 using the Tekonsha Pigtail for my vehicle. After poking around to find the connection under the dash I emailed Tekonsha and they replied with the location. Now that the Controller is hooked up it gives me a hard "No Brakes" message. I had the exact same controller in my last tow vehicle. When the trailer was disconnected, the display would always show the friendly "Tekonsha" screen. In my X it shows me the angry red "No Brakes" screen. I don't have immediate access to my trailer but am planning on pulling it some this weekend. Do I have an actual problem or is this normal behavior for this setup?

Reverie

By the Way, I emailed Tekonsha this same question and have not received a reply. I checked their web site but it was not helpful.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-24-2009, 01:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa and Nashville
Posts: 566
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
There will be a Heavy duty fuse or relay under the hood for trailer brakes. When my truck was delivered new those fuses and relay were in a package in the glove box. Or take a 12v test light and check the pins on the 7 pin for voltage when brakes are applied, if no voltage at the 7pin then most likely the fuses or relay are not plugged in....Good luck .....Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-24-2009, 01:37 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,824
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
In my former 00 I needed to install 2 maxi fuses in the engine compartment fuse box. some people also need a relay, they are listed in the owners manual. Did you buy the plug and play connector from Teconsha and plug into under dash?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors