2005 EX Exhaust... what you think???? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Ford Excursion Discussion This forum is for topics relating to the excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2009, 07:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2005 EX Exhaust... what you think????

I have a 2005 completely stock EX with 27k miles. I want put a 4" turbo back exhaust on it. Do you guys recommend the MBRP or the Flow Pro? What's the difference in aluminized steel and stainless besides longevity and price? Also, does the exhaust eliminate the CAT and muffler and what are the purposes of deleting those? Sorry Diesel newbie here. Thanks for any feedback.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-25-2009, 08:00 PM

I'm running a MBRP system now. Good performance, sounds nice, and the price wasn't too bad. As you said, there is a difference in price between alum and stainless. Stainless is a good idea if your located anywhere it snows and they salt the roads. It will stay nice forever. Removing the CAT and or muffler is up to you really. Removing them will make it louder and affect your mileage slightly...that's basically it.
Old 02-25-2009, 08:06 PM

Send a message via AIM to maddenjr
I have mbrp with no cat and dual tail pipes with 6 inch tip and love it.it sound and looks awsome and fit great!!!mine is stainless and is holding up great.
Old 02-26-2009, 06:00 AM

Does removing the Cat increase flow and potentially increase mileage? What is the overall advantage of removing the Cat? I understand the reason for removing the muffler is for sound, especially with todays high flow mufflers. Is that logic correct?

Also, does removing the Cat preclude dealers from warranty work on the truck? I have a 05 Ex with 26K miles and a ton of warranty miles left. Don't want to ruin that!!