Diesel NOOB Here - Hello!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Ford Excursion Discussion This forum is for topics relating to the excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2009, 07:27 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Diesel NOOB Here - Hello!!

Just bought an 05 6.0L PS Excursion - Eddie Bauer with only 25.5K miles and one owner (unbelievable)!! I am stoked! I bought an extended power-train warranty that will take coverage through 5 year and up to 125K miles.

I have been reading through a ton of threads on here already and have a few questions I want to get out there before I start making modifications to my yacht.

1. Headers -- With the 6.0, it seems header bolts are an issue and a source of contention and everyone has an opinion on when they should be replaced. Since I have an extended warranty, would it be wise to hold off on this adjustment until I near the end of the warranty?

2. Exhaust -- Does adding a turbo back exhaust and removing the cat nullify my warranty on the drive-train?

3. CAI -- I have come to the conclusion that unless I am going to push the engine above 500 HP (which I am not), then the stock AI is perfectly suited. I plan on 'Zoodad'ing it though, that is safe enough and cheap. What is a good drop in filter for the stock AI? Or is the stock filter adequate??

4. Gauges -- I have read that certain people think the gauges should be on of the first mods done. I am in agreement somewhat - the more information we have in general, the better. Any suggestions on type, brand, and those with the easiest setup??

5. Oil and Additives -- Will using full synthetic oil from now on be beneficial for the 6.0 over the long run? Are there any additives I should be using now, and on a consistent basis, to get the best MPG's and keep the engine clean?