04 excursion - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Ford Excursion Discussion This forum is for topics relating to the excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 10:05 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
04 excursion

Hi, I'm new to powerstroke and diesel world. I recently purchased an 04 excursion limited 4X4 6.0. It has 170,000 miles on it, EGR delete, A.R.P. Studs. 4" diamond eye exhaust straight pipe from turbo back. That's the stuff I've noticed that has been done to it. I've got an issue with coolant coming out of degas bottle only when you get on it I notice it. I've done a coolant flush on it with the ford VC-9 and refilled withe zerex cat coolant. I put an after market coolant gauge on it but haven't seen any temps above 220. I only have heat when I'm on highway. I've replaced the thermostat also. I'd like to get this problem taken care of and then I'd like to try to get around 500-600 horsepower out of it. I know head gaskets have been replaced but don't know what brand nor if heads were machined. That was done before I bought it. Also notice gurgling in coolant system.

My questions are:
What could my coolant issue be?
Is there any updates to this motor I need to look for or do?
And what is best way to achieve my horsepower goals?

Thanks for any info!!!

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-05-2013, 12:17 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic

Sounds like you have leaking head gaskets. Are you sure you it has ARP studs? You may need to do a coolant pressure check. Info is on Youtube.
Old 11-05-2013, 04:03 PM

Yes. It does have ARP studs. And what I can see of the head gaskets they are black.

Old 11-05-2013, 07:08 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickellhead View Post
My questions are:
What could my coolant issue be?