Just bought 6.0diesel for wife and got some questions pls - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Ford Excursion Discussion This forum is for topics relating to the excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-26-2012, 04:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Just bought 6.0diesel for wife and got some questions pls

Just bought the wifey a 04 Eddie Bauer 6.0 diesel 131000mi 4x4 ex. This is my first time owning a 6.0. My dad has one and my friends have them. Me I still got the old reliable 2001 3/4 7.3L 180,000 and still rolling. With the excursion when u accelerate from a dead stop I hear a loud clunk. Almost like the back glass on the barn doors isn't shut. But it is. Almost in my mind sounds like the rear shocks compressing which I know I should not be hearing. It's only at acceleration when u take off. Could it be drive shaft or swing bearings, sway bars, idk wondering if anyone else have ever had that noise and how did y'all resolve it.

I am bringing it to coys diesel specialties next week to get egr delete kit and change both valve cover gaskets. I got to change ball joints and tie rod ends also.

We have 5 kids and they are just getting old enough to get into rodeo with me so to be legal we needed the room. Lol. With that being said this 6.0 will be the wife's everyday vehicle and occasionally pull a two horse aluminum trailer.