help with injector removal - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Ford Excursion Discussion This forum is for topics relating to the excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2011, 11:04 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
help with injector removal

So I am going replace all of my injectors since the local Dealership diagnosed my poor running 04 Excursion. This is my first 6.0 major fix and cannot afford to have the dearship do the injectors. I am a pretty good mechanic and have a full shop even though it is a hobby and not my profession.

I've got the drivers side apart and have moved to the passengers side and am tired of staring at the last three valve cover bolts hidden away. Is there a secret to getting those suckers out? No room to work, no room for sockets and I am getting pissed just thinking about putting them back in even if I do get them out. I can't believe I need to take out all of the air conditioning crap to get to this side, but DO I? I'm hoping some of you more experienced 6.0 guys can steer me in the right direction and save me some time and aggravation.

I'm planning to put in a set of Warren Diesel 155's with 30% nozzles, a 4 in exhaust, EGR bypass and a set of guages. A custom tune as well and I am expecting my old strong running Excursion to be back in good form again. Anything I'm missing? or anything you more experienced 6.0 guys would recommend. I'd prefer not to learn all of this stuff the hard way.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-26-2011, 01:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 1 reviews