Brake Controller - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Ford Excursion Discussion This forum is for topics relating to the excursion only.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2010, 11:25 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 1,244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake Controller

I need to put a brake controller in the 04 Excursion. Anybody can give me hints/tips. Is there a specific one with a matching factory wiring harness? Better brands than others?
Looking for hard core knowledge transfer here people. Oh yeah, momma said it's gotta be cheap too.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-22-2010, 03:13 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,575
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I love my Prodigy P3, I’ve used several controllers and the P3 beats them all. Mine was like $100 new from eBay. They also sell wiring harnesses that will plug into your factory wiring, I don’t know about the excursion but my 250 and my buddies 250 had the wire plug tucked up under the dash and have a trailer tow package with relays and extra fuses under the hood.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-19-2010, 08:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The plug for the harness is up under the dash as well for the Ex's. Remove the fuse panel and you will see the gray plug over more towards under the radio. You'll probably just have to splice the adapter for the Ford plug onto the wires of the controller, not big deal. Good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-20-2010, 07:19 AM
Emergency Services

 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beeville, TX
Posts: 1,489
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Some controllers can be bought with a Ford adapter cable already, so there is no cutting at all on the controller side. Ford was nice enough to include the harness under the dash for the controller for you already.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-23-2010, 05:37 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mt. Pleasant, SC
Posts: 1,244
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks to all. I found a Tekonsha Voyager on Ebay and it already had the correct adapter cable with it
Gotta love Ebay.... Now for some new shocks....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors