A/C control - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2007, 05:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A/C control

Why is it when you push the heat in my 2007, the a/c light comes. Have to manually turn off. Does anybody else have this problem do this? Mine is the automatic temp control digital control.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-12-2007, 05:10 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It sounds like you are trying to use the climate control rather than simply turning the heat on. If you select automatic temp control the a/c must be enabled just in case it needs to be used to cool down to your selected temp. If you just push the the floor control button and run the temp up or down to your liking, the a/c should not light up. Sorry if I'm not understanding you, but it sounds like you may be using the automatic temp control.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-12-2007, 05:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I will try that in the morning. Not use to all this fancy stuff yet. I'm use to analog guages.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:11 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
Quote:
Originally Posted by 720Deere View Post
It sounds like you are trying to use the climate control rather than simply turning the heat on. If you select automatic temp control the a/c must be enabled just in case it needs to be used to cool down to your selected temp. If you just push the the floor control button and run the temp up or down to your liking, the a/c should not light up. Sorry if I'm not understanding you, but it sounds like you may be using the automatic temp control.
Deere....I was wondering the same thing. During the winter I usually run my Auto Climate..unless the windows are fog, the I switch to defrost. But usually I leave the auto on all the time, and I just turn off the A/C. Now if I turn on the auto climate, leave the A/C lit up, and the truck wants to warm the cab, is it still effecient to leave the A/C on? I always thought with the A/C compressor running, the cab won't run as warm, I could be wrong. What do you think...or maybe one of the techs could chime in?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-14-2007, 12:54 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Jarrettsville, MD
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't use the auto in the winter. I just select around 68 to 70 degrees and vary the fan speed according to my comfort level. My reasoning for this is to turn the compressor off. You should notice that on auto you need to keep the thermostat set about 2 degrees warmer than with manual settings. Why run the compressor creating extra wear for it and extra drag on the motor when it's not necessary.

I'm not a big fan of the auto climate anyway, but I do use it in the summer months.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 184
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you have the Climate control system off, and then press a temp button, it will automatically enable AUTO and the A/C. I'm not sure if the A/C is running full time in auto mode, but the light does stay illuminated regardless. Below about 38 degrees the A/C compressor won't run anyway. I would like to know for sure if the compressor runs if it's not required when you select auto.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors