Message center displays both doors open!?!? Please help! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2014, 11:38 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Message center displays both doors open!?!? Please help!

My message center switches between front door ajar and rear door ajar when I only have the front door ajar. I have the amp Powersteps and have been having problems with the passenger side step not going up all the time. So I was messing with opening the doors and when I open the passenger front door I noticed the message center display switches between front door ajar and rear door ajar. I close the front door and open just the passenger rear door and message center says the same thing. It switches between front door ajar and rear door ajar. I'm positive if I can solve this problem it will also fix my powerstep problem. Any ideas??? All wiring looks correct in passenger sill for Powersteps. I have never had a problem with driver side steps. Does this only on passenger side.

Thank You in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-2014, 11:44 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,177
Thanks: 116
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Get yourself a can of wd40 and spray the latches down

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-22-2014, 11:44 PM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,177
Thanks: 116
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Also fix the wiring issue

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-23-2014, 12:20 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Get yourself a can of wd40 and spray the latches down

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Already did wd40 on all door latches
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-23-2014, 12:21 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
Also fix the wiring issue

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Where is my wiring issue??? All wiring looks correct per amp Powersteps diagram
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-23-2014, 12:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Has anyone else had their message center say both doors are open with only one door open?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-23-2014, 01:24 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,177
Thanks: 116
Thanked 106 Times in 97 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
There's likely a short somewhere in the splicing with that issue

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-23-2014, 08:32 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
There's likely a short somewhere in the splicing with that issue

Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Ok, would a voltmeter help me find the short? And since it's just on the passenger side I can limit it to just those 2 door trigger wires right?

Thanks dave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-23-2014, 08:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,272
Thanks: 69
Thanked 196 Times in 187 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i think i would unhook the amp box and see if the dash warning goes away if it were mine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-23-2014, 09:10 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZMANN View Post
i think i would unhook the amp box and see if the dash warning goes away if it were mine
I'll give that a shot when I get home. Great suggestion. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
2006 ford f250, amp powersteps, message center

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors