Possible parasitic drain? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-26-2014, 02:02 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Possible parasitic drain?

First post here, and unfortunately it's an electrical problem I'm new to the 6.0 world (and diesels). Shortly after getting my truck, I went out to start it in the morning and killed the batteries starting it up. Had it jumped and went to work, where I let it run for a little bit to charge up the batteries. Seemed to be working fine. The next morning, I went out to start my truck again and it the batteries died again.

I think you get the idea. The batteries in the truck are about a month old. My multimeter read about 11.7 volts across the terminals when the truck is off. When the truck is up and running, I'm getting about 13.6 volts from each battery, and the alternator is putting out about the same. The alternator looks like it's fairly new itself. It's at the point now where I'm beside myself with what to do, and unfortunately I'm fairly low on funds at the moment, so I can't just throw parts at it. I was looking at the grounding points on the block coming off the negative terminal of the battery, and it looks like there's a bit of corrosion there.

I've already jumped it 5 times in the past few days, and I've heard that low voltages can kill my FICM, so I'm trying to avoid that as well. What should my next step be?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-26-2014, 02:34 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Check alt. in the morning when engine is cold put your hand on alt. should be cold to the touch, If it's warm or hot diode is bad in alt.
Get new alt. if it's a reman. they are mostly crap.
Have batteries checked just cause their new doesn't mean they are good.