Switched 12v fuse - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-08-2013, 03:03 PM
Bruins Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Milford
Posts: 132
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Switched 12v fuse

I've literally pulled my hair out over this. It seems every fuse I hook into under the dash, stays on with the key out. I just simply want power when the truck is on, and for it to shut off when the truck turns off. I looked on here and couldn't really find a straight answer, can someone help me out?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-08-2013, 03:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,960
Thanks: 62
Thanked 164 Times in 157 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well damn i never had an issue finding a switched

give Me a few
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-08-2013, 03:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,960
Thanks: 62
Thanked 164 Times in 157 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2007 f250 super duty king ranch diesel
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-08-2013, 03:14 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SW Houston
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Most of the interior stuff stays on until the door is opened. Try the radio fuse, surely it has to be switched.


Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-08-2013, 03:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,960
Thanks: 62
Thanked 164 Times in 157 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
also some may be retained power like the radio so if you want it to stay on for that duration or until a front door is open use the accessory power for the radio
I do not know what your powering but if it is a high amp load I would use a relay and make a separate fused circuit
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-08-2013, 04:12 PM
Bruins Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Milford
Posts: 132
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for that link. I am putting in my radar, I had it wired to my map light's in my old car, but they only got power when the car was on. Everything I seemed to touch it to would come on with the key out, I do not want that obviously. I will poke around with that diagram now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors