Overhead console/ compass issue - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2013, 02:50 PM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,726
Thanks: 6
Thanked 114 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Overhead console/ compass issue

My display works fine. Problem I'm having is it always shows "cal" on the compass part. I've went through the recalibration procedure a bunch of times and it might work for a day then the same thing. Anyone know if there is a sensor or module that goes bad causing the issue? I don't actually use the compass but it drives me insane to look up and see "cal" and not the direction.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-10-2013, 08:28 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Southeast CT
Posts: 243
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine does the same thing...Seems like it works every once in a while, but says Cal the rest of the time. Interested to see if anyone has a solution...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-12-2013, 08:49 PM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: North Pole, AK
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Subscribed, mine does the same. Pretty annoying......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-13-2013, 02:39 AM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,726
Thanks: 6
Thanked 114 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Anyone?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-13-2013, 03:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Palmetto, Ga
Posts: 3,395
Thanks: 1
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I know mine was acting funny so I took it apart. Mine was dimming then would not turn on at all part here's what it looked like



Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-14-2013, 02:09 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: God Blessed Texas
Posts: 118
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Before my MPG indication was not working and now my compas is doing the same thing. The is a thread on resoldering some pieces on the circuit board to fix the MPG gauge. I believe it was the ones that have 620 or 680 in the first picture. I am planning to pull it apart and resolder the rest and hopefully that will do it.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-14-2013, 03:37 PM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,726
Thanks: 6
Thanked 114 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I don't have a problem with it not lighting up. I can read it fine, the compass just won't stay calibrated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-14-2013, 04:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 995
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There's something about it in the owners manual.... I don't remember what it exactly says but you are supposed to drive around in circles to get it to calibrate
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-14-2013, 05:56 PM
Mod Newbie


 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,726
Thanks: 6
Thanked 114 Times in 107 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by USAFBowman View Post
There's something about it in the owners manual.... I don't remember what it exactly says but you are supposed to drive around in circles to get it to calibrate
Yeah, I can get it to calibrate. The problem is it won't stay calibrated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-14-2013, 07:42 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Wonder if you do the general display fix if it would help?

Overhead computer Fix - Easy and it works


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors