Fog Light Problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2013, 08:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fog Light Problems

Hey guys I have a problem with my fog lights, they came stock on the truck. I recently upgraded headlights to Halo/HIDs. The lights will not work now. My indicator on the switch comes on sometimes, sometimes I need to play with it to get it to stay lit. I have trouble shot to the extent that i could and now I'm stuck. The wiring diagram said that there is a fog light relay; wheres this located? Or could my switch possibly be the problem >.< Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:26 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 906
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The fog light relay is part of the Central Junction Box aka fuse panel that is inside the truck and is not a user-serviceable part. Sounds like to me if you have to play with the switch to get them to light up, that would be the first thing to check.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I see a fuse labeled for fog lights, but no relay. Do you know which relay the foggiest run through?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:15 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 906
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My understanding is that it is part of the fuse box so your not going to see it directly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,272
Thanks: 69
Thanked 196 Times in 187 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do u have an owners manual with fuse and relay locations ??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-23-2013, 07:39 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes my owners manual has the fuse names and locations.

So if it is a part of the box how would someone replace it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-23-2013, 08:10 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 906
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I guess the point is you would have to replace the whole fuse box. Like I said I would start at the switch level.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-23-2013, 01:14 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 975
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Would it be reasonable to just skip the relay? The way I see it is the relay was only placed in there to shut them off when hi beams come on.... With the fog light mod it gets rid of that.... So should I be okay with just cutting the wire from the switch and the wire to the actual fog lights and splicing them together?

The switch is good because my lights in my bumper are run off the wire out of the switch but before the relay for the fogs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-24-2013, 05:12 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Navarre Beach, FL
Posts: 906
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would do the fog light mod; fixes your issue and does a good mod at the same time.

sent from my Samsung S4
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-24-2013, 05:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Delaware
Posts: 1,048
Thanks: 16
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I vaguely remember a post on here over a year ago where another ORG member was having a similar issue. Turned out that he needed to add an extra wire because of his new HID lights. Not saying this is the cure, just saying maybe do a check on past post. I really have a hard time believing that everything worked fine up to the HID install and now its a switch or fuse box issue.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors