high idle mod ?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 07:48 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
high idle mod ??

Hooked up my high idle mod yesterday... it works fine. I can't get the led light on the switch to illuminate! If I ground it, my 10a fuse blows! What am I doing wrong?? 2004 6.0 truck.
Thanks!!
superbrutus is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 08:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MrOneEyedBoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,732
Thanks: 45
Thanked 143 Times in 77 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Are you grounding the correct terminal? Take a picture of the back of your switch. This is a write up I did for my 06

How To: 2006 high idle mod w/switch
MrOneEyedBoh is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 08:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fallon, Nv
Posts: 2,403
Thanks: 54
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not 100% sure, but you may have your 12v sources reversed. I've had similar problems with illuminated rocker switches. Instructions? The guy who invented that illuminated switch didn't need instructions and neither do we!

Sent from my LG-VS700 using AutoGuide.Com Free App

Karl and his 2003 6.0

Barefoot Accelerator Pedal
TRICO Force wiper blades
Yellow Military Aircraft Valve Stem Caps
Offensive "Stick Family" Decal
Big Ol'Honkin 1 1/4" Shank Receiver Hitch


WHAT!?! I was trying to list stuff that everyone else
hasn't already listed for their truck!




Karls03 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 08:51 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes. I am grounding the correct terminal. I also tried switching the two wires on the switch itself! The second I flip the switch...boom goes the fuse! I'm decent with this type of stuff...that's what's pissing me off the worst!
superbrutus is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 08:57 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine is wired like your diagram. Wire from above diagnostic port to middle and wire from above ebrake to the account terminal! Ground to one of the ground screws above diagnostic port! I'm buffaloed!
superbrutus is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 08:59 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Acc^^^ autocorrect..dam you!
superbrutus is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 09:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Fallon, Nv
Posts: 2,403
Thanks: 54
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Usually, this is where I try another switch.

Damn you auto correct for putting words in superbrutus' mouth!

Karl and his 2003 6.0

Barefoot Accelerator Pedal
TRICO Force wiper blades
Yellow Military Aircraft Valve Stem Caps
Offensive "Stick Family" Decal
Big Ol'Honkin 1 1/4" Shank Receiver Hitch


WHAT!?! I was trying to list stuff that everyone else
hasn't already listed for their truck!




Karls03 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 09:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
MrOneEyedBoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,732
Thanks: 45
Thanked 143 Times in 77 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Yeah it is possible the sw. could be bad. Radio shack has tons of 12v toggles.
MrOneEyedBoh is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 10:11 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'll try that. Appreciate the feedback!
superbrutus is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 05-28-2013, 03:45 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Very odd now! Was able to get the switch led on with the high idle. Used a different ground. Hooked it all up then when I turned the switch off..fuse goes! WTF! With the ground disconnected and me manually touching a ground bolt its fine. I attach it..its fine. Turned switch off...fuse blows!! Any thoughts at this point??
superbrutus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome