Shaker500 swap? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-19-2006, 11:53 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 120
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Shaker500 swap?

Has anyone ever heard of swapping out a Shaker system from the Mustang and putting it in a F250? Would the head unit be a simple swap? It looks identical accept for the "Shaker500" label. Is the amplifier in the head unit or is it seperate? I don't want to go with aftermarket stuff because theft and breakins are everywhere in Atlanta.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-19-2006, 12:19 PM
I don't know nuttin....

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tuttle, OK
Posts: 17,162
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Good question, i haven't ever thought about it. Maybe someone will know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-19-2006, 05:46 PM
im fat and ugly


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 15,687
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That Would Be A Neat Swap. I Had A Mustang With The Shacker And It Sounded Good, I Bet It Would Run Alot More Than An Aftermarket Stuff Though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-10-2007, 08:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, this interests me as well. I think it has a built in amplifier too...has anyone done this switch yet? They sell on ebay for about 150$...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-10-2007, 08:56 PM
DKR DKR is offline
<--Pro Cooler Racer
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Newark, Delaware
Posts: 8,216
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to DKR
I think the Shaker (and the MACHs for that matter) had a separate amp setup prolly in the trunk....I would check before buying just the head...and also gotta check years on the radio and truck, harnesses didn't change much, but the years varied.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-11-2007, 10:30 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok, did some more research...as I understand it, the amp is in the head unit itself, and the only drawbacks are that the factory dimmer wont work on the head unit....

This could be a very worthy $150 add-on, if music sounds better to you cranked up!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-12-2007, 03:39 PM
Military Member

 

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Born in OR. strokin in Texas!
Posts: 501
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to jwiger Send a message via AIM to jwiger Send a message via MSN to jwiger Send a message via Yahoo to jwiger
it needs to be looked into but i believe the mounting tabs are different between the head units on some models of Fords, some have tabs on the front edge and some are in the middle of the chassis it's self so you need to research that a little.

even if the tabs are different they are the same size and i'm sure you can make it work and look good at the same time, it just might not be a simple bolt in swap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-12-2007, 03:50 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: RIVERSIDE, CA
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No the amps is not in the head unit. They are in the trunk of the car I use to work at a Ford body shop. The system is really good but an after market system that is set up right is cheaper and more worth it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 07-06-2007, 04:07 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Hillsborough, NJ
Posts: 156
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did this and it is worth 125 i paid on ebay for the shaker 500. Direct fit with the exception of the mounting brackets.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors