amp install - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 10:10 AM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
amp install

Thinking of adding a few amps,does it matter which battery I hook up to? Or do I hook up to both of them? If I hook up to just one I'm prov only gonna get 6 volts and I don't think my pyramid amp would lest long.. I want to remove one of the battery in the future for weight reduction but for now I am keeping them both.. thoughts?? I tried unhooking one already but truck would not start and keep dumping fuel into my sparkplugs
blowincoal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 11:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houma, La
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ROTMFFLMGDAO! This is great. I'll play.

You just hook it to one battery. The ECM will pick up the aftermarket amplifier and send 12 volts to it.

The reason the truck wouldnt start is because you removed the wrong battery.

To keep the truck from dumping fuel on your spark plugs you have to run the remote wire for the amp to the amp and the sending unit in fuel tank.

These trucks can be really tricky to wire.

Also, dont waste your time with all these power programmers you hear about, its a waste of time. With the truck running, hook up jumper cables to one of your batteries, then take the end thats not hooked up and put the negative on the chasis and the positive on the ground lug next to the fuse box. The will "shock" the ECM and automaticall boost horsepower by 75 percent!

Good luck buddy!

2005 F250 FX4 6.0 PowerStroke, Dashboss, Swamps 58V FICM, PHP Atlas 40 tune, Tony Wildman Extreme Tune, IPR Coolant filter, ELC Coolant, EGR....nevermind, updated stc, more to come!
Babyboy70363 is offline  
post #3 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:00 PM
Turbos = Witchcraft
 
TooMuch03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: West Bend, WI
Posts: 2,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 36 Times in 18 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
The other way to do it is to hook it to the positive post on the driver side battery and to the negative post on the passenger side battery. That way the ECM doesn't have to do anything with the amp. Some of the earlier trucks won't recognize the amp and send the correct voltage to it. But, be warned, do NOT hook up the positive terminal onthe passenger side battery to the negative terminal on the driver side battery, that will really screw things up.

2003 F250 6.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuscany View Post
Compounds FTW!!!
TooMuch03 is offline  
post #4 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Fox Hunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Humboldt, California
Posts: 2,387
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 144
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Babyboy70363 View Post
ROTMFFLMGDAO! This is great. I'll play.

You just hook it to one battery. The ECM will pick up the aftermarket amplifier and send 12 volts to it.

The reason the truck wouldnt start is because you removed the wrong battery.

To keep the truck from dumping fuel on your spark plugs you have to run the remote wire for the amp to the amp and the sending unit in fuel tank.

These trucks can be really tricky to wire.

Also, dont waste your time with all these power programmers you hear about, its a waste of time. With the truck running, hook up jumper cables to one of your batteries, then take the end thats not hooked up and put the negative on the chasis and the positive on the ground lug next to the fuse box. The will "shock" the ECM and automaticall boost horsepower by 75 percent!

Good luck buddy!
Lmao that was great.

2006 F-350 CCSB Lariat
MBRP 4" Exhaust, ARPs, Barder Stage 2 turbo, S&B CAI, TSD SPD, Warren Competition transmission, Edge CTS, Coolant Filter, High Idle Mod, CCV Mod, Zoodad, Newton Leveling kit, Fuel Mavericks 20x9 , Pioneer DVD head-unit, JL Stealthbox and JL Slash 500/1v2 amp
Future Mods:
Injectors and Driven Diesel RR
-Alex
Fox Hunt is online now  
post #5 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:24 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
USAFBowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 17 Times in 15 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You bought a diesel and you are worried about "weight reduction".... go back to owning ricers.

USAFBowman is offline  
post #6 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houma, La
Posts: 563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The easiest way to reduce weight on these big trucks is to not fuel up past 1/4 tank! When the light comes on you still have at least 150 miles to go, so just watch your odometer close.

2005 F250 FX4 6.0 PowerStroke, Dashboss, Swamps 58V FICM, PHP Atlas 40 tune, Tony Wildman Extreme Tune, IPR Coolant filter, ELC Coolant, EGR....nevermind, updated stc, more to come!
Babyboy70363 is offline  
post #7 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
700xxmaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: middleburgh, n.y
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lmao be nice guys, just hook it up like you would in another car, both battery's are 12v so it won't make any difference. When I had mine I had the positive hooked to the drives side battery. And the negative hooked to the one of the nuts holding down the rear seat.


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

99 ford f-250 crew cab powerstroke
-skyjacker 6'' lift
- 395-70r-16 mickey tomson baja mtz
-sct tune
-stright pipe (vrrrooom)
-cops are in love with the thing

08 TRX700XX
-uni
-primary drive 13t
-pclll
-cp 11:1

01 recon es 250
-kenda 22'' bear claw
-53mph top speed

700xxmaniac is offline  
post #8 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
mazsecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
:h ehe:

To the OP...please tell me your not serious......

Mike
mazsecond is offline  
post #9 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:31 PM Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You just hook it to one battery. The ECM will pick up the aftermarket amplifier and send 12 volts to it.

The reason the truck wouldnt start is because you removed the wrong battery.

To keep the truck from dumping fuel on your spark plugs you have to run the remote wire for Thanks for the advice.



So you saying the ecm automatically picks up the wiring load upgrade and makes the necessary adjustments depending on load conditions?! Will this send my truck into limp mode and if do does a simple reset solve the problem, I can use my bullydog to rest it if so.. ill try it running off both battery's, and see how it sounds...
blowincoal is offline  
post #10 of 32 Old 12-03-2012, 12:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
mazsecond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Boca Raton, Florida
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by blowincoal View Post
You just hook it to one battery. The ECM will pick up the aftermarket amplifier and send 12 volts to it.

The reason the truck wouldnt start is because you removed the wrong battery.

To keep the truck from dumping fuel on your spark plugs you have to run the remote wire for Thanks for the advice.



So you saying the ecm automatically picks up the wiring load upgrade and makes the necessary adjustments depending on load conditions?! Will this send my truck into limp mode and if do does a simple reset solve the problem, I can use my bullydog to rest it if so.. ill try it running off both battery's, and see how it sounds...


You do know were kidding right???

Mike
mazsecond is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome