Horse Trailer Camera Interference - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

6.0L Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 06-04-2012, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Horse Trailer Camera Interference

Ok, so I don't know how many of y'all will be familiar with a camera used in a horse trailer to watch horses going down the road, but I figured I would ask. So, I have it hard wired through my display on my dash, back thru the cab, over the wheel well, then back up through the bed, where it hooks into the connection attached to the trailer. It's a standard white/yellow A/V cable hooked into my amp/"brain".

The problem is, I'm getting a lot of interference when I hit the brake (ie, squiggly lines across the screen). I initially zip tied the cable very close to the brake light cable (unintentionally). I repositioned the cable away from the brake lines/cables, but still getting the interference. The camera cable is still pretty close to the brake light as it runs up close to the tailgate on the driver's side and into the bed. I'm thinking it's still interfering there.

Is there any way to wire it into the plug for the trailer brakes/lights? Then put the camera cable from the trailer into the trailer plug? Hope this isn't too confusing and complicated for ya. I'm no electrician by any means.

Thanks in advance for any/all advice!
C17pwrstroke is offline  
post #2 of 8 Old 06-05-2012, 05:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
hogasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kitty Hawk
Posts: 248
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check to see if the cable is shielded

If not it is possible that any electrical bleeding will cause interference

I'd rather be fishing
hogasm is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 06-05-2012, 05:24 AM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,715
Thanks: 57
Thanked 93 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know exactly what you're referring to, and you're going to have to either shield one of the wires or re-route them. A ferrite bead might help also.
Snake is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-05-2012, 05:14 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the input guys! But, I can't tell if I am getting interference from the truck or from the trailer. I suppose that means I need to troubleshoot to find out where its coming from first, then shield? or should I shield the whole thing? Either way, shielded conduit is REAL expensive isn't it? Thanks again!
C17pwrstroke is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-05-2012, 05:23 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I guess one way to tell if it's from the truck or trailer brakes is to hook the trailer up, then turn the brake controller for the trailer all the way down to where there's not any braking going to the trailer. Or do you think that even with it turned down, there will be an electrical current running to the trailer brakes? I suppose there would be, which wouldn't help me any.
C17pwrstroke is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-05-2012, 05:24 PM
Premium Member
 
Snake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,715
Thanks: 57
Thanked 93 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yep, gonna have to troubleshoot first, then figure out what needs to be shielded. The best bet may be to try to re-route the wire on the truck (pull it as far away from the truck as possible) and potentially try to wrap the wire in aluminum foil to see if that solves the problem.
Snake is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-05-2012, 05:35 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 291
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What 12v source does your camera get its power from?

2006 F350
6.4 banjos
FP spring
Insight CTS
IDP/Looney SCT X3
Studded
Durastroked
S&B,CCV
FICM Repair/PHP 40hp

2008 F250 FX4
DPF-R +
06DZL is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-08-2012, 09:30 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Run a seperate ground wire for camera. Had same problem on my reverse camera and back up alarm both getn same power and ground. Ran seperate power -same. Ran different ground same power -fixd
zzamud is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome